December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Pillage

by Matt Hartley - Jam Entry

For information go to the link

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#145Fun(Jam)2.93
#205Overall(Jam)2.85
#228Innovation(Jam)2.57
#234Mood(Jam)2.54
#240Humor(Jam)2.08
#248Theme(Jam)2.79
#252Audio(Jam)1.77
#257Graphics(Jam)2.50
#1027Coolness24%

Comments

Trigun7000 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:01am

I liked the concept of it, but I think you guys simply could have done more with it. It is pretty funny when you have a large mob and a base disappears almost instantaneously though.

Felix20 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:00am

This was a fun little game, it would have been so much better if the humans built things faster though, especially when they're down to a few buildings

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:19am

At first I was completely confused, but once I understood how the game worked this was pretty engrossing!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:22pm

Had some trouble with the controls but I did figure it out..

Maristak says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:23pm

I like the concept. Everything works kinda cool except the fact there is no end-game

Aswissrole says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:28pm

Alright, nice concept though I found the pixel art a little too retro. Can't seem to figure out how to place buildings though.

Zener says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:30pm

This is the kind of game I like, well done!

valeroth says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:54pm

Took a while to figure out the controls by which time I'd lost a lot of my units! But fun enough when i got the hang of it. Couldn't work out whether you could actually choose to create units or not though or just increase the limit.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]