About | Rules and Guide
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 13 hours, 44 minutes, 49 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 13 hours, 56 minutes, 49 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 14 hours, 44 minutes, 49 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    MidBoss - Eniko - Jam Entry

    In MiniBoss you play the weakest demon in the dungeon, an imp with no talent at all aside from the ability to possess defeated foes. Defeat the other denizens of the dungeon, learn their secrets, and rise to become the new end boss!

    Please note that hitting 'L' several times will resize the combat log to various sizes so you can pick whichever is most comfortable to you, unlike what the game says it's not an on/off thing. This let's you know what's going on better.

    Windows is a binary package without dependencies. Any other platform can download the source and run the game through MidBoss.py, requires Python 2.7 and Pygame

    EDIT: Fixed a bunch of crashing bugs, if anyone downloaded this before, I suggest redownloading it now.

    UPDATE: If you like the game, please keep an eye on my Twitter or this page for a post compo polished release which will hopefully address a lot of issues people are having and include some new extra features.

    View Eniko's journal. | View all entries by Eniko

    Ratings

    Coolness71%
    #81Fun(Jam)3.21
    #84Innovation(Jam)3.27
    #86Mood(Jam)3.24
    #91Overall(Jam)3.37
    #130Theme(Jam)3.47
    #160Graphics(Jam)3.24
    #215Audio(Jam)2.32
    #282Humor(Jam)1.77

    Comments

    cardboard says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:23am

    Awesome game! I really like the graphics. Unfortunately I suck really bad at game so I can't get past level 3. I'll most likely play this again at some point in the future when I have more time.

    vrav says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:20am

    I like this game.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:02am

    I quite like the graphics.

    Soggyclog says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:41am

    Cool game. Really hard though.

    ratking says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:05am

    I like the idea very much, although I recommend to make it a bit more accessible (NumPad, urgh). For example, I'd save the last positio of the attack crosshair, so I wouldn't have to reposition it with every attack.

    vrav says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:23am

    ratking - your comment makes me think of Brogue, which is pretty much the most accessible roguelike ever. You can just click everything! Though I enjoy using the numpad for movement, I agree that this game could definitely be improved with interfacey clicky actions.

    Kharza says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:05pm

    Tough! But I like it! Is there any way to heal? Also how do you unlock unlockable powers?

    Regus says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:31pm

    A litte guide from a friend of the author:

    when you posses an enemy you will become that enemy with full health (regardless of how much health you had before), and when depossesing while at full health you will become yourself with full health, this will let you (easily) deal with rats and vampire bats.

    Be careful when walking around if you see a tough opponent at the edge of the screen turn around and they won't follow you.

    Play like this till you reach level 3 or 4 using your points in strength, agility and constitution.

    at this point you should be able to defeat and possess a skeleton and from then on the game becomes playable.

    Oh and it took me an hour or more to realize this very important detail: the game isn't real time it's turn based.

    You gain the unlockables by playing as that monster for long enough - don't worry you won't need to play as a rat to get envenom some higher level monsters have the abilities of the low level ones.

    Sorcerers are too powerful compared to when they are introduced i have been turned to dust several times by a sorcerer using their fireball spell before i could even get close enough to use any of my abilities.

    That said i managed to make level 21 i think i was on floor 4 and then ehm the game crashed on me i'll email you the log file.

    I really like the game - been playing since you sent me the link, 5 hours by now, and been enjoying myself for the last 4 hours, but if you weren't a really good friend i would not have played for long enough to figure my way past the early stages of the game - i hope my little guide will help others into the fun part of the game.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:25am

    A nice entry. Well done .

    Kharza says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:29pm

    I made it a lot farther thanks to that Regus, this is really sweet, great work!

    halemaster says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:50pm

    Pretty good game. I like it a bit.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:55pm

    numpad argh :), i'd have to say you could improve the controls a bit. Other than that it's a pretty cool idea.

    vandriver says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:37pm

    man, i love roguelikes. it's just swell when a good, long game pops up in LD that i can sink a couple hours into, much to the detriment of others i should be reviewing! the controls take some adjustment, but i've played dwarf fortress for ages and those are no picnic either. this is probably the only game i've reviewed so far that i'd go back and play again.

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:07am

    Thanks everyone for the positive comments, it makes me really happy to be able to provide you guys with entertainment! :D

    To those who say the controls are bad, specifically the numpad, how would you change this? Initially I was going to use the arrow keys, but those lack diagonals.

    Incidentally I intend to polish this up over winter break and release it as a full game. I suggest anyone who might be interested in that to keep an eye on my Twitter. :)

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:33am

    This game is awesome, although I completely suck at it.

    It'd be nice if there were more control options though (like using wasd+mouse), but it's a really cool entry as it stands. Nice one.

    blob says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:04am

    I love hardcore roguelikes and I really want to play this game but it is way too hard. a dozen times and I cant beat a bat. The concept seems interesting though so looking forward to your update.
    I dont find it really fits the theme though ( why are other monsters of the dungeon you are part of attacking you ? In the end it is more a regular dungeon crawler with an interesting gameplay twist ).

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:34pm

    blob: rats are lower on the pecking order than bats. Try putting your first two levels into agility.

    As for the theme, well, there's a few ways to interpret it. Personally I think possessing a badguy fits "you are the badguy", and if the end boss is the villain, then defeating and usurping his body to become the end boss fits pretty decently.

    caranha says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:23pm

    This game is FRUSTRATINGLY fun. It caused a serious case of "just-one-more-try" syndrome on me. You sir, are the villain for torturing me so.

    I never made it past the first level - I try to go for the bat for leech, and then for the skeleton for XP. If I make it to the skeleton, I can clear most of the level, but I almost never make it that far.

    It would be nice if there was some sort of indication about how far you are from learning a new skill. Since the game is so difficult, all information that can be used to make a strategy is welcome!

    Thanks for the game.

    Also, some way to restart the game, other than closing it and opening it up again, would be more than welcome. Cheers!

    Robotic says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:43am

    Neat graphics

    Infin8 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:56am

    Awesome fun! Amazed at how you could come up with such a fun and complex game in such a short amount of time!

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:48pm

    The game is so cool O.O nice! :D

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    Controls are *very* awkward and I don't mean just numpad - I'd suggest going with mouse clicks instead of the whole "press a button to attack, position a crosshair and press another button" thing. TBH I found the idea very nice but couldn't figure out how to play properly (only managed to possess once and had a hard time telling who was winning combat).

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:54pm

    Like the game, it is hard.

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:55pm

    As for who's winning combat, I got a few comments that it wasn't clear there's a combat log. Since I can't edit the compo version like that (I think) I added a note above telling people about the combat log. Unfortunately that's the only way to really tell what's going on sometimes.

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:47pm

    Played more after reading Regus' guide and I must say this game is as addictive and fun as it is counterintuitive ;)
    You should really add a readme with a guide, including:
    -What Regus said
    -How to attack (press a, target with numpad, press space)
    -That you can move to all 8 directions
    -That you should cast possess on the enemy before killing it

    I appreciate hard games but at the very least you should be able to save when you reach the stair to a lower floor. I think I'll download Python and try to add this just for myself before I play more.

    Sometimes a strong monster locks on you as soon as they get on screen - you might as well close the game because there's nothing you can do.

    Also sometimes the "red hoods" and "golems" will spawn on the first floor, which means you're screwed.

    ramoncb says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:13am

    I was a complete disaster at game, but was very fun! =)

    Jiddo says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:49am

    Truly a great game. I don't think I've ever played a LD entry for this long. The Sorcerers were way too powerful tho. I would really like being able to save/respawn as well, so that you don't have to start from scratch whenever you run into one. I tried running away from enemies a few times but that was quite futile. :(

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:38am

    Sorcerers are a reminder to not neglect your Wil attribute, which improves magical defense. >_>

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:50am

    Oh, so that's what it's for, thanks! Will have to play again!
    BTW I managed to change the source to accept arrow keys (so I can play on the notebook) but I don't know what exactly I should pickle to save the game state. I tried pickling thw ehole thing but it complains Surfaces cannot be pickled. Would really appreciate any help!

    galman says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:58pm

    Really cool game! Played it for a while and really enjoyed it ;)

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:49pm

    Awesome. It reminded me a bit of Paradroid, except with roguelike-ish gameplay and a fantasy setting.

    Udrian says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:08am

    Really liked this game! It was really fun to play and I got stuck for a long time trying to figure out how to progress. It was how ever very very hard and frustrating at times. I never actually got beyond level 5 xP

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:52pm

    Sensational game! I spend a lot of time in it. I had to hack (my computer) a bit, I believe the numpad choice was unfortunate for laptop users.

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:51am

    @Atomic I'm sorry but I can't really suggest a quick fix for saving because the way the architecture is laid out I don't think there IS a quick fix for saving. :/ But it will be in the cleaned up post-compo version, probably as a cheat of some sort.

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:54am

    @Eniko: thanks for answering anyways. I ended up running it on a Windows XP VM and using snapshots to save, LOL o.ô Managed to get to the balrog and possess it but the game keeps generating floors. It does get a lot easier after you get fireball from the sorceress but those liches can still kill you with two hits right until the end. I only asaved once before going down each floor, with the exception of the first and second floors (where I saved once for each possession). I don't think it's possible for enyone to finish this without saving unless they can spend an year trying (i really think saving should be a regular feature, even if it only saves at stairs) ;)
    Anyways it's a very fine game and I've had a lot of fun with it. Thanks and looking forward to the post compo version.

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:30pm

    Yeah, the game doesn't end at the balrog, because I figured people would want to keep playing after they possessed the final boss form. In fact, if you live to floor 20 and above, I think, he starts spawning as a regular mob.

    There are no new mobs in the higher floors, but their numbers do keep increasing.

    I'm glad you had enough fun with it to actually go through all that effort using a VM to get a save function. You're probably right that the difficulty curve may need some adjusting, I haven't gotten past floor 9 myself on a legit playthrough.

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:07pm

    Yeah, I'm sort of compulsive with that stuff.. if I start to play I game and enjoy it I *need* to finish it XD

    If you really don't want to add saving your best bets for decreasing difficulty are:
    a) making sure monsters won't lock on you as soon as you see them - I think this happens when they move to a non-boarder-of-the-screen tile as soon as they enter your screen.
    b) fine tuning spellcaster's damage to avoid 2 hit kills.

    Congratulations on getting to floor 9 without saving, that's very impressive!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 10:43am

    A bit too oldskool for me in terms of difficulty and UI. The idea certainly sounds good and it looks nice, like 90s PC RPGs. I will try this again a bit later.

    Cryovat says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:15pm

    Considering the amount of time you put into this, it's a really impressive piece of work. I have to admit that I'm not the world's biggest Rogue-like fan, but you made a good entry to the genre (and killed me a bunch of times).

    The graphics and UI certainly didn't make it feel like a game jam entry. :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]