December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Lasers against Humanity

by tcql - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Left / Right arrows to move

Use your Laser (space) to destroy buildings. Use your shield (shift) to destroy incoming missiles. There are two building types:

- government buildings, worth more points
- missile silos, worth fewer points, but you'll want to try and get rid of them so you aren't harassed by too many missiles


Note: for running on Linux/OSX, you must have Love2D installed (https://love2d.org/), and execute

love /path/to/game.love

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#252Innovation3.11
#332Theme3.28
#353Overall3.00
#481Graphics2.67
#487Fun2.58
#831Coolness41%

Comments

vrld says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:41am

Very interesting idea, but gets repetitive really quick. Just circling around the planet with the occasional shield gets you very far. With a little more polish (e.g. bigger, maybe different planets and building with health bar instead of one-hit-kills) this could be a real hit though. :)

zatyka says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:05am

I didn't like the text coming up over incoming ships.

NukeTheBunnys says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:27am

I love the hubble telescope shooting lasers at the earth. Other ideas you could try would be different missile types (more damage, shield piercing, faster) having different speed missles would make it much harder to get all the missles to clump up

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:42am

Pretty funny concept, but it got boring pretty quick. Fun while it lasted! Adding a few more gameplay mechanics would make this pretty fun!

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:16am

Crashes on startup for me on Ubuntu. Could be an issue with how I have things set up; I'm not familiar with Love. Here's the traceback: http://pastebin.com/pijz4zMT

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:19am

Hm... I don't know why this game isn't working... other love games have been. I've tried following your instructions, that didn't work.

I'm on a mac btw.

tcql says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:27am

To anyone on having issues on linux, can you check your package manager and let me know what version of libopenal you have? it seems to be a problem there. Which is kind of silly, considering I don't even have sound running in the game right now -_-

tcql says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:29am

The internet also suggests killing and restarting pulseaudio daemon

hints says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:27pm

Good start, just needs something more.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:41am

This was a really cool idea, being an orbiting death ray, and nicely executed.

Well done. Never seen this idea before.

albatros says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:28am

On Ubuntu Precise (12.10 LTS), the game doesn't work, even with love installed. It's a problem related to the version of love provided by the package manager, wich is 0.7.xx

You have to install the 0.8.xx version from here:
https://love2d.org/

Just posting in case it hepls someone :)
--
Like the other said, I liked the first minutes of this game.

tcql says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:40pm

albatros, thanks for finding that

GameRespect says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Nice concept, and with a little bit more variety in weapons and structures to destroy, it would be a truly awesome game.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:33am

Nice idea. Well done!... adding some more elements would be good.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:25pm

Pretty darn cool, but easy to just chip away at the planet and shield once in a while.

wademcgillis says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:18pm

I couldn't "win" because buildings kept appearing. Is it possible to remove all buildings from the planet?

Jan 2, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Polar coordinate systems are always refreshing. And it looks great when you have a huge swarm of missiles after you. Apart from that, the game gets a bit boring quickly. Is there a win scenario, or do you just keep on until you're dead?

tcql says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone :) No, there's not a win condition right now. I have some plans for improvement further down the line, and one idea I had was around implementing Levels, where each level would have some pre-set number of buildings you had to destroy before you had "conquered" that planet and could move on

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]