December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Tycoon

by Dadeyemi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

----------------------------------
Dungeon Tycoon
----------------------------------
by Neoentertainment
----------------------------------
1) Intro
2) How to play
3) Credits
----------------------------------
Intro
----------------------------------
Email
From: Secretary@LoEvil.com
To: XxProNecroxX@hotmail.com
Subject: URJENT-Misson LoE

The epic hero has been
rampaging the lairs of all the
league of unspeakable evil(TM), and
they will arrive at your lair to
slay you, the president of the
leaugue of unspeakable evil(TM),
Rupert Murdoch, has warned you
that soon the hero shall arrive at
your dungeon to slay you.

You must ready yourself by
looting the corpses of those
foolhardy adventurers who dare to
enter your domain in an attempt
to earn fame and fortune.

Slay him and you shall know
endless riches the world shall be
yours to do with as you wish.

P.S. The barbaque at your's was
great last week see, you 2moz
for the Evil social at nandos!

Best,
Justin Beiber,
Secretary
Leugue of Unspeakable Evil

----------------------------------
How to play
----------------------------------
Aim: In 5 minutes The Epic Hero
will enter your cave, prepare it
so that you may slay him when you
rid the world of the only force of
capable of destroying the forces
of darkness you will be victorious.

with the Keys 1 to 4 you select
and object in the top right and
to place in your dungeon and
press space to place it:

1-Place '10 gold'
- "Riches await those who dare"
- Costs 10 gold
- Increases the value of your
dungeon, and can be picked up
by you or any adventurer. the
greater the value of your
the more adventures come.

2-Place 'A Heart Shaped Box'
- "So long lives this, and this gives
life to thee"
- Costs 50 gold
- Refills every 90 secs give 1/2 hp,
refills in 5 seconds initially, and
can be picked up by you or any
adventurer.

3-Place 'Demonic Pit'
- Costs 20 gold + 10 gold per pit
already in that room.
- "What monsters lie beneath"
- Spawns a zombie every 30 secs,
spawns in 5 seconds initially.

4-Place 'An Entrance'
- Costs 40 gold + 40 gold per
Entrance already in that room.
- "Who dares to enter my domain?"
- Spawns adventurers at a rate
depending on the dungeon value,
this only works on the top wall.

Things to note:
-Left shift shows the minimap.
-Zombies are on your side.
-Zombies drop gold on death.
-Adventurers pick up gold.
-Adventurers drop gold on death.
-Adventurers get slightly stronger
if they have more gold.
-The Epic Hero is stronger than
you are.


----------------------------------
Credits
----------------------------------
Dadeyemi
----------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#78Theme3.88
#198Graphics3.42
#233Overall3.24
#247Fun3.08
#265Innovation3.08
#350Mood2.79
#481Audio2.04
#545Humor2.00
#711Coolness47%

Comments

agumaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:06pm

great concept

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:08pm

I like what you were trying to do here, but some stuff didn't really seem necessary (e.g. multiple rooms really meant nothing more than that you could run away from a fight; the best strategy seemed to be to make one room a fortress full of zombies) or to work as described (the Epic Hero turned up after about 9 minutes, not 5). Also, the game seemed to glitch out crazily when I finally won - like it was playing the 'win' method every frame or something.

Gameplay quibbles aside, graphics were lovely, very thematic, good job.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:24pm

This one I played for quite some time. This is a very playable game. At no moment did I realise that this was a game that was made in 48 hrs.
I wasnt't able to unlock the items 2 and 4 though.
Rooms overflowing with zombies. Cool!

pillbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:57pm

Seems pretty fun, although I think it could have used an extra combat build choice or two, the zombies are quite weak and with the one option it hurts a little. Also I wasnt entirely sure what the dungeon value did.

Keevor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:55pm

Neat game, although the amount of rooms was kinda pointless, two would have been good.

hints says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:00pm

Very dungeon keeper. Kind of slow paced though.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:17pm

This is really nice! Its really fun to play once you find a good strategy. The sound effects and graphics are both really nice. The only problem is that when you win, the hit sound effect keeps playing over and over really fast.Fix that (and maybe set the placing of objects to a grid), and this game would be even cooler. If you were to continue this, the first thing I would suggest (aside from fixing the sound glitch at the end) is to add more enemies. The zombies are really weak, and it takes a good amount of them to kill any heroes.

Prealpha says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:24pm

This is very similar to a design I've being mulling over for a while. It could be interesting to add some risk-reward concepts, for example, putting an item that heals the hero makes traps cheaper, you can put chests withe weapons in exchange of being able to hire stronger monsters, and so on.
One problem is to provide enough building freedom while making the hero move around the dungeon in a way that feels reasonably smart... sorry, digressing.
Good stuff.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:31pm

This game really makes me dislike heroes. Good job!

caranha says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:40pm

Very interesting concept. The dungeon might be a bit too big though. Maybe start with only two or three rooms, and expand as necessary? I played three times and I don't think I've seen the entire dungeon.

Also balance could be improved a bit to make the game more dynamic (making heroes, skeletons and hearts spawn faster)

Thanks for the game!

Neonlare says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:15pm

Great game for the mood and theme it created, but the dominant strategy of a can full of zombies was something I ended up using as well :(. The rooms didn't have too much function. Still very impressive for something made in 48 hours!

Benjamin says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 12:53am

I disagree about the previous comments about useless rooms numbers. Your gradual price balance is the solution. If the best strategy is to build all the pits in one room, I guess that just increase +X per room should be enough. I think that more traps and specific heroes would have make the game more enjoyable, but for 48 hours it's still very playable.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]