Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

SUPER Witch Hunter Pro

by Gungnir - Jam Entry

Super Witch Hunter Pro

Don the spiffy buckled hat of Hopkins - a Puritan novice witch hunter. Keep the crowds (and Father Horatio) appeased with a steady stream of heretical souls, cleansed by raging flame.
How will history judge your actions? The hero of today is oft the villain on the morrow...
Goal:
-Burn as many Witches to death as possible on the Pyres placed throughout the village to earn Purification Points.
-If left long enough, Witches will escape. Escaped witches will reduce your Piety. If your Piety reaches zero, game over!


Controls & Tips:

-Use the arrow keys or W,A,S,D to move about the village.
-Use P to pause the game.
-Stand close to Pyres to start a fire and accelerate fire growth. The Pyre must have wood (and a Witch!) to start a fire.
-Witches cannot escape while the Pyre is burning. Fire will diminish over time if left unattended.
-Burning a witch to death or letting her escape will consume all wood from a Pyre. Gather extra wood from convenient Wood Piles at several locations.
-Make sure to keep each Pyre stocked with wood so you're ready to start each fire when the Witch appears.
-Righteous Speed power-up will help you cover more ground.
-Holy Fire power-up will increase all active fires, and light any valid Pyres.
-Chain together several completed Witch burnings to increase your Purification Point multiplier.
-Banish the Goat Warlock for bonus points!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#9Graphics(Jam)4.53
#25Theme(Jam)4.02
#25Overall(Jam)3.82
#31Mood(Jam)3.61
#34Audio(Jam)3.64
#86Innovation(Jam)3.26
#88Fun(Jam)3.18
#91Humor(Jam)3.07

Comments

LogiQ121 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:31pm

Couldn't get the game to work on web. Error: Bad file length :(

Gungnir says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:33pm

Yep, web version is still uploading, please give it a minute. Thanks.

saampahlavan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:37pm

Looks great. love the fire particles and the chanting.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Web Player is uploaded now. You can get the standalone for glorious HD graphics though!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:40pm

@saampahlavan Thanks :) The chanting is our own voices layered together.

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:41pm

That was fun and graphics are amazing, good job!

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:51pm

Looks neat! Love 2d/3d mixes :))

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:59pm

Pretty cool, I like the fire effects and intro dialogue :) Solid game

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:01pm

Good job, it's a beautiful town !

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:38pm

What a delicously messed up game. I love it, really good graphics too, nice job!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:18pm

Very well executed. Love the theme, idea, graphics and sound.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:42am

Awesomely innovative! And the visual style is soooo charming. I see some of the screenshots have different camera angles. I didn't notice these while playing, but it would've been nice to show off more of the 'paper cutout' style. Like maybe have it broken down into 'waves' and after each wave you get a different camera view around the area while some dialogue plays. Awesome looking and unique game that's fun to play! GOOD LUCK IN THE JAM!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Thank you all for your (positive) comments. We love hearing what everyone thinks :)

@SonnyBone The other camera angles are just for the screenshots. We also have some ideas lined up to expand on the game if it ever comes to that.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:51pm

Nice concept, fun to play and beautiful.

Pitoum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:21pm

Very fun idea! Great graphics! Controls are a bit rough thought. Congrats!

diggersworld says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:45pm

Cool, one of the best entries I've seen so far. Nice graphics and audio. =)

monobo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Nice! Cool Graphics and sound. Gameplay was fun and easy to understand :D!

Hvedrung says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:32pm

I tried so hard to burn the priest.

benjkers says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:47am

Haha! It'd be quite carthartic at this point to tie the priest to the pyre... HOPKINSSS!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:38am

graphics and presentation get top marks!!!! Fantastic work you guys! I also love that there's also female peasants in the crowd. Thanks for remembering.

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:49am

So polished! Awesome work for 48h. This could easily be extended into a full game adding a few extra features! It get a bit tedious running from corner to corner, but the idea is fun : )

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:54am

Very cool. I loved the art and the powerups.

haxpor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:01am

I can burning her all days!
Burning and screaming sound are pretty cool. Environment and atmosphere is great! Great job.

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:53am

Very professional looking game. Paper Mario like. :)

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:39pm

Amazing atmosphere, nice polished!

iandioch says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:14pm

That was pretty good. It was a little boring when you had to stand around as nothing at all happened, but I did love kicking the warlock goat off the cliff :D

mmorphinee says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:10pm

Beautiful and fun to play. Lacks of a true ending though, I just stopped playing after some time because I didn't died and the difficulty did not seem to increase

strong99 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:17pm

Amazing atmosphere Gungir, nicely polished jam entry!

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:47pm

Is it posible to get some nice OSX and Linux binaries? :D

Gungnir says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:27am

Thanks everyone for your amazing comments!
Please keep them coming since we will be working on a post-compo version so we want to know what you'd like to see improved and / or added.

@DavidErosa
I have added an OSX version but I don't own a Mac so it's untested, contact me if it doesn't work.
I still run Unity 3.5 so I can't help you with the linux version, sorry.

recursor says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:49am

I love the cut out look of the graphics. Nice job.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:59pm

Heh, and you thought the controls in my game were rough? :P

Great graphics, nice concept.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:24am

Great entry! Love the art style.

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:38am

Nice and amazing game :) one of the best entries :)

pereubu says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:56am

Oh god, great graphism and sound ( even if a funnier music would probably worked better with the "burn witch brun !" thing :3 i luv it !

goerp says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:32pm

You are a good artist, the pictures looked great. In game they were a bit tiny.
Kicking the goat was fun.
I liked the idea although they were real witches, so I'm not evil then?
It did look like sometimes the witch would reignite without me being near, is that a bug?

Gungnir says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:48pm

goerp: Thanks! Definitely works better full screen, but we wanted to play it safe. Maybe we'll look at some alternate camera and level layouts in future versions.

The last little bit of burning happens automatically, once they're very well ablaze, fire will finish the job.

It's up to you if they're real witches or not - but if you're unsure, should you really be burning them? ;)

blob says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:24pm

Haha ! Its surprisingly rewarding...
Very nice art ! It's pretty fun, I think its just missing a little extra complication in the gameplay. Nice addition with the power ups btw.

ilo says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:44pm

The presentation is exceptional and the game is very intuitive and appealing! It would have been nice if the gameplay grew - either in complication or difficulty - as you play, but nonetheless a fantastic effort. :)

Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Very cute graphics.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:46pm

Best entry I've try so far..Good job really!

Mesene says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:47pm

Good job! very solid entry I wish there was a little more handicaps. also nice mood

brantkings says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:44am

Whoa so good! One of the bests I've seen so far. Really good graphics.

dcolgan says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:16pm

Excellent entry, love the 2.5D graphics. They remind me of an Animal Crossing-like feel.

feili says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:00pm

Nice!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:27am

Polished, clean graphics, the whole package! Gameplay could use a little bit more, but this is great! Good job, guys!

Hatscat says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:43am

great!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:31pm

Thanks LD fellows! We really appreciate the feedback. We'll definitely be pursuing a post-compo version with a real difficulty curve and the pushback we didn't have time to implement. Check out the post-mort for more info - http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/24/super-witch-hunter-pro-ld25-post-mortem/

TehSkull says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:50pm

Really enjoyed this game. The art work was very nice

mikemacdee says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:38am

its beautiful, fun...and disturbing. the art in particular is really wonderful, and juggling witches, wood, and torch fuel was pretty maddening.

blackotus says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 4:11am

Amazing game overall.
Great graphics and fun gameplay mechanics.
Congrats!

fishbrain says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Excellent work! Great graphics, sounds, & innovative concept.

RawBits says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I personally don't like the topic of this but I admit that the gfx are very good - the fire is impressing. (I get that you are the villain here.)

Keyboard handling is bad though - there is no diagonal walking and there is a priority in the directions.

Also the gameplay is very boring. Just set them on fire and after that you only need to wait for the grail to keep them burning - that sound is really spot on though. Occasionally get the goat for points that are not good for anything.

So better game desing and keyboard handling for next time.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:43pm

I got a strategy going for a while that lets me go on forever and that kind of makes me sad. I stopped at 50k points and Witchfinder General rank.

It's good that this topic brings out entries like these that may otherwise be hard to justify making. It's good that playing this stuff like this is enticing until you realise what you're doing. The increasingly undulating crowd and louder chanting with the very subtle soundscape behind it was very effective in setting the mood. I think you did a good job in abstracting away just enough to make it a game while still allowing you to see that you're being a monster.

Polished and well designed and one of the best showcases of the theme. Make people feel uncomfortable. Good good.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]