Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Who cares Fairplay? - bukt - Jam Entry

You are the member of LudumDare 25. But you have no idea how to win in fair-play. You choose fun-play instead! All you need for is a little amount of cash. You hired road-police squad to disable all your opponents. Of course, only in respect with law.

We dedicate this game to honor more than fifteen hundreds of GAI-men (local government auto-inspectors), that decide to work on Omsk roads in early saturday's morning. It was about -40C on that day.

This game is tower defence. I know, it's really hard to win. If you stuck at some level, but want to see other ones (and win slides) - use `WC` keyboard combination :)

View bukt's journal. | View all entries by bukt

Ratings

#17Humor(Jam)3.79
#26Theme(Jam)4.00
#57Graphics(Jam)4.00
#74Innovation(Jam)3.36
#81Fun(Jam)3.21
#92Overall(Jam)3.36
#127Audio(Jam)3.08
#155Mood(Jam)2.85
#1048Coolness22%

Comments

tim_u says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:36am

I liked the idea and most of the gameplay, but there didn't feel like there was anything other than pure luck at play. There were a number of times that I would place a unit and they would ignore the next car to go by, even when the car was a length or two away when placed. That got frustrating. But I did enjoy the idea of hiring corrupt cops to adjust your chances in the ranking.

bukt says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:44am

tim_u, thank you for your comment. About car's ignore: it is feature, not bug. We've implemented it to avoid situation, when cops' chain don't release the car for all its length. So, catched car has some kind of cooldown after each catch to have a chance to drive some, before next cop.

Floko says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:45pm

The idea was fun, to stop the LD team from getting together. But I didn`t really understood when is it that I manage to stop a car or not, since they all reach the finish line anyway. Also the game didn`t continue when the level was finished. The cars stopped coming and the music stopped =/

SFX says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:30pm

I love the idea, but I wasn't really sure how to make any progress. Like someone else said, it just felt like luck.

Cosmologicon says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Really creative idea for a tower defense. Hilarious storyline. This has got to be one of the best games I've ever played that's dedicated to traffic inspectors in Omsk, if not THE best.

It does seem a bit unbalanced. Why would I ever want a lieutenant when I can get two sergeants for the same price? And upgrading doesn't seem worth it - upgraded lieutenants cost 50% more an only make you 28% more money.

Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:28pm

I really like this game, nice graphics and a nice game idea.

Maikeroppi says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:04am

A well put together, humorous spin on a tower defense game. A few notes:

-Next time, you might want to post a screenshot of the gameplay as your current one isn't as exciting as the actual game.
-Having two lanes for a tower defense game is an interesting.
-The idea is really neat. I like stopping the cars and having a tower/lane defense game not based on shooting.
-My wrist hurts a bit from all the clicking and dragging. Hotkeys for the units would be nice.
-I hit a bug sometimes where the bus would go in between both lanes sideways, and drift all the way to the end of the level without anyone else being able to stop him. While hilarious, it did make it tricky to beat the levels.
-It seems like it takes a few seconds after being placed to begin stopping cars.
-In the second level, it seems like the officers get lost in the trees. It makes it a little difficult to see which type of officer is in which space.
-I think it would play a lot better if you received the money when a car is captured, then the car is held. This would certainly make it a lot easier.
-I managed to make it through the first level, but it's a bit tricky.
-The graphics were pretty amazing; this matches a lot of complete games on flash portals.

Congratulations to your team!

LogGiant says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 3:31am

This is a really cool twist on classic TD games. I did have an issue where I would mean to click an officer, and it would instead press the upgrade button, but that wasn't the end of the world. I also appreciated the art very much!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]