December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Makarun

by timtipgames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

* Please note that there is now a post-compo version with advanced controls and more (link above)
* If you like, read the post-mortem here: http://ld25postmortem.timtips.com
* VideoWalkthrough available here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gvBxP76p6MI

DESCRIPTION
------------------------------------------
You are the bad guy, making a run (makarun) for it. On your escape from jail you have to evade the good guys or take them down brutally. It's a stealth-action-game in 2d that makes extensive use of dynamic lights to visualize and check lines of sight. Also makes things much prettier ;)

CONTROL NOTES:
------------------------------------------
Use "W" to walk towards your mouse-cursor.

In my opinion the easiest way to navigate is just to use w to move forward and determine the direction by using the mouse.

"A" and "D" also work but act a bit "strange" because they let you walk around the mouse cursor instead of strafing straight left/right.

Stand close to "!" and "?"s and hover them with your mouse to get ingame instructions.

PERFORMANCE SETTINGS
------------------------------------------
Due to fixed timestepping and some sideffects of a too tight coupled render and logic loop it's desirable to have it running at ~60FPS. Use the options menu to adjust the performance settings to get as close to it as possible. The game will run fine on lower FPS but it might just not feel the way its intended.

BUGFIXES
------------------------------------------
I submitted a bugfixed version. It eliminates the following bugs:

* If you complete the standard mode, you will be thrown back to the main menu instead of directly restarting in higher difficulty. (Fixed)

* There is also a bug for some people that makes it impossible to move and aim at the same time.(Fixed)

You can still download my initially submitted version on http://timtips.com/ld25/makarun.jar and http://www.timtips.com/ld25/makarun-src.jar.


PERSONAL NOTES AND LIB CREDITS
------------------------------------------
This game is really far away from what I had in mind when I began. But it has an imaginery goat!

I used:
* libGDX, box2d, box2dLights, and Artemis Entity System Framework for coding.
* Cosmigo ProMotion, Gimp and TexturePacker for graphics
* Reaper, the free "Sonatina Symphonic Orchestra" sample-bank and my Korg-SP250 to compose the music and the one sound that made it into the game (it's a stealth game, so no more sounds :))
* TiledEditor for the map but also for various meta-data integration and object placement.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#97Overall3.55
#104Fun3.43
#104Audio3.29
#105Mood3.33
#183Graphics3.45
#321Innovation2.95
#363Humor2.53
#436Theme3.05

Comments

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:26am

The game is really good as an avoiding sight game. The cones of vision are really well represented making it clear when to move and the patterns of people and cameras. Maybe the only problem I would find in the game is how slow is to load, and a little bit frustrating at some moments. Overall, really good entry! :D

solidplasma says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:29am

It's just the right amount of challenge, and the sound is very good for something made in such a short time frame. The controls are just slightly awkward, though.

teh_eria says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:26am

Cool game! Controls are little weird, but I like where it's going!

Arakade says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:30am

Lovely lighting. Controls seem to lock so mouse won't move while you still have a key pressed. Makes manoeuvring hard! Played twice, got caught twice :-)

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:34am

Thanks for your honest comments!
The locking thing Arakade describes is actually a bug that someone reported once, but I couldnt reproduce it. Normally you should be able to move, aim and jump all at the same time.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:56am

I quite like the controls. Had a fun time playing but I think the player needs to be ever so slightly faster.

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:17am

A really fun game! Didn't get to finish it but i'll replay it when i have the time! One thing that bugged me is that it had some parts where you had to wait until someone looked away in order to continue, which really broke the otherwise excellent flow! But overall a really neat game and i love the representation of the guards vision!

juaxix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:26pm

Very well driven.
I would like you to review the triangle sensor of the enemies and try to reduce it a little bit. :)
Nice music and game flow

Fireblend says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:09pm

Pretty good! I love stealth games and this one nails it! Unfortunately I had some trouble with the detection; sometimes I'd be hidden and not covered by light and still be detected. Still, awesome game! A checkpoint at least at the middle of the game would have been appreciated too :P

HardScore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:22pm

Its really impressive.

Worse says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:15pm

Controls were a bit awkward, maybe just use WASD and no mouse? Also the levels played exactly the same due to lack of randomness. Otherwise a very nice looking and playable game.

tonithy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:40pm

Nice game. Well implemented. One bug I noticed though was being able to walk around the walls if I reversed then strafed past them...

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:34am

Very solid game. My only complain is that the field of vision is a little bit too long - you can't see where exactly it ends becouse the colour belnds too much.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:37am

Nice art but I really can't get on with the control scheme.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:16pm

I love how wide screen the game is! Also, nice music.

wzl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Enjoyable. I liked improving my path with each try. It got even better when i realized that [Shift] let's you dash. Although that evil guard patroling in the end of the camera room always got me!

Here's a little review about it :D
http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#timtipgames

Sanguine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:21pm

Cool! I like how your stealth game is very different than mine, the line of sight looks cool and works well too :)

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:50pm

Really nice sneaking in your game, and great mood setter! More of a challange than mine, I wish I'd had more time to make my sneaking a bit more complex too. Being able to knife them made some parts a bit easy too though. Great job!

sharbelfs says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:02pm

Great game

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:02pm

Lovely how you did the lighting and I like how strafing worked, didn't see any issue there. :)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:08pm

I suck at this game and didn't get very far, but man, this is awesome. My heart was beating in my chest, it's just so tense. The music adds to the quiet stealth atmosphere. It reminds me of Metal Gear Solid. It took some time to get used to the controls, but I see why you did it this way; it gives you very precise control. Maybe to simplify it, dropping the strafing and moving forward with the left mouse button would be an idea? Anyway, impressive work!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:19am

Nice game! I liked to tunes too. Yeah, controls are inventive, but a little strange; I found myself only using "W".

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:21am

Great game, reminds me of MGS, and those vision cones are just awesome! I couldn't play post-compo version though, it just doesn't load. Can you post a link to the jar itself?

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:02pm

Nice entry, it was enjoyable to play your game, aside from the already reported slow load time.

Glad to see another libGDX user ;)

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:06pm

Big thanks, new jar works like a charm, and improvements are noticeable :)

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:10pm

You are welcome, thanks for your interest in it :)
And thanks everyone else for their suggestions and comments. Keep them coming :)

caranha says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:56pm

The game is pretty cool, and pretty fun. I think the goat thing was a bit too gratuitous, and detracted a bit from the overall "groove" of the game. I really liked the in-game message icons.

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

nilstastic says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:15pm

Good: Fun game to play!

Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:48pm

Like the music!

Per says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:33pm

Very nice game!
The controls were a bit strange at first but its not a big deal.
Nice music and graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]