December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Race Against The Machine

by Lapinou - Jam Entry

RACE AGAINST THE MACHINE is made by TYU (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/tyu/) and WYSK (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/wysk/) for the art, and myself for programming.

Arrow or WQSD to move camera, left click to shoot, space to start the game !

ENJOY !

(I'll post the unity projet on the following days)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#57Innovation(Jam)3.44
#112Mood(Jam)3.07
#127Graphics(Jam)3.44
#146Overall(Jam)3.09
#158Audio(Jam)2.84
#196Theme(Jam)3.09
#198Fun(Jam)2.66
#216Humor(Jam)2.21

Comments

wallmasterr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:54am

i love the start and end screen art , and the games fun too. bit confused with some things in it but was still fun .

pythong says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:48pm

i liked the level randomization, but i didn't had the feeling like being the bad guy :)

Robotic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:52pm

Great game, the random level generation is very refreshing. Cool 2D illustrations as well. Aiming at some traps was kinda hard sometime

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:40pm

Nice innovative gameplay! The instructions and tips screens were very well done. The game felt a bit dark, but I did appreciate the random generation.

Winterblood says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:39pm

Novel idea, but lots of obstacles I was unable to interact with. Scored best by trying to keep him alive, so the balance clearly needs tweaking. Lovely visual treatment though, very polished.

Codexus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:42am

Interesting concept, but I think the game would work better if we either try to kill him or to save him.

ahmed.majd says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:38pm

Nice work :)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:13am

Really good marks on graphics and mood! And innovation!

I hope you continue this a bit post-comp and sprinkle on some magic engagement dust!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:24pm

looks nice! and nice mood... although i found the game a little difficult to grasp.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:02pm

Excellent work ! I adore the fisheye effect, very moody ! A complete game with an interesting concept, superb graphics, generated levels, a music... Congrats !

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 7:36pm

The robot moves quickly and the levels are random, so there's no real time to apply any kind of tactics in saving him. If I just leave him alone and remove all obstacles he still dies rather quickly most of the time.

I like the idea, if you expand on this I think this actually calls for more designed levels and a larger view area so players can plan ahead through +/- obstacle courses.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]