December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

ALL EARTHLINGS MUST DIE!!!!!!

by savethejets1 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

ALL EARTHLINGS MUST DIE!!!!


DESTROY THE PUNY EARTHLINGS!!


A note about the controls... They suck lol

S - pause is a toggle

all your invaders need to be on the next line otherwise pressing left will move them right and reverse them back up to the top line they were on.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#58Audio3.47
#101Theme3.81
#117Graphics3.69
#161Innovation3.31
#163Mood3.20
#284Fun3.00
#340Overall3.03
#439Humor2.29

Comments

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:23am

Controls are not solid at all, need work.

lando walters says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24am

Good idea, but the execution wasnt perfect. The game is almost impossible, I couldnt even get past the first level (supposing there were levels)
with some work though, this could be turned into a great game. I also really loved the minnimalistic graphical style :D

ripter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31am

Really loud! The controls seemed to have issues. Fun game.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:33am

Great job, worked great on OSX.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:33am

Works fine on my mac, too (yay Java). I like the style and the sounds a lot, but I didn't feel like I had enough control over the gameplay. It actually gets more fun once you lose a bunch of ships and you have some more fine-grained control.

It took me a few round sto realize that "s" is a toggle--I kept pausing, then hitting w/d to resume moving and nothing would happen.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:37am

Simple concept, good implementation.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:38am

Controls are pretty weird and the game doesn't really end? Kinda nice music and glow effect, though.

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:56pm

Pretty fun, could've done with a little more work on the gameplay as I felt like I was losing because of buggy controls rather than player skill. Sweet effort for 48hrs though, well done!

Nik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:32pm

Interesting idea

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:19am

I found myself just using the Pause key (since the shifting left/right was too complicated for me). I was able to beat it. It's a very interesting concept and could make a decent one-tap mobile game if you get rid of the A/D controls.

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Yeah I'm working on a post compo version where you just use the pause key and then up/down increase/ decrease your speed. I was only using the pause key when I was making it so I didn't really notice the control issues with left/right.

lol not sure about releasing this on mobile I'd probably get sued into oblivion by the space invader owners :D. I'd love to do that though. I'm using libgdx so it'd be super easy to port to android!

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:06pm

I think this one is, although pretty hard a good entry. Great work ;)

blackmagic says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:40pm

need a little smoothing (progression controls ) :)

cappelnord says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:01pm

I enjoyed that! The controls were confusing an limiting but also challenging and fun!

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:46pm

Great game! Nice graphics, nice sound, nice music, nice game play!. I loved it. The controls need some polish, when you type S and then A or D, the enemies keep frozen. That shouldn't happen. It was hard but I could win the game.

caranha says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:45am

Yeah baby, make it rain Pew Pews! A mortal game of "red light green light"

I loved this game! The visuals of the enemy and player ships were spot on, the music, sound effects and particles were also great. This was a great take on the "reverse-x" game.

Some thoughts:
- I think the game was a bit on the easy side, while it was fun, maybe you could have ramped the difficulty a bit. After about 10 levels or so, I had to sacrifice myself to die. Maybe make lasers faster over time, or jack up the shooting frequency of the enemy.

- Some score would have done WONDERS for this game. Give some points for every enemy shipped killed, plus bonus points at the end of the stage for time/surviving ships. Then a high score screen: BAM! Replayability!

- If we always want to shoot all the time, why do we have to mash spacebar? Maybe you could have a lower rate of fire if the player held the space bar, and then he could fire a bit faster if he wanted to mash it.

- Now I know I said the game was a bit on the easy side, but it would have been great, for the sake of nostalgia, if we could blow up the defensive walls. Not sure how to balance that - maybe the walls get stronger over levels?

Thanks for the awesome game!

Neonlare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:54pm

Controls are really hard to get to grips with, but I did enjoy the presentation and music! :D

Spelchan says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:41pm

Somehow managed to win. My lasers stopped working near the end. Not sure if this was due to ammo limit or if it was a bug. You are already aware of control issues. Graphics and sound really help the feel of the game.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:47pm

It's all about hammering down spacbar, and my spacebar broke when was working at my game, so it was a bit too difficult for me. Bu good grapics and overall mood, but too short.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:24pm

Excellent graphics and audio! Nicely executed, with satisfactory invader mechanics, and works well enough; but extra work on this idea could make it pure gold!

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:37pm

I grokked the controls at some point but they are group-based and they get confused when the alien groups move to the next line.

Few bugs here and there. I got two player ships at some point and to win I can let my numbers reduce to 1 or 2 on the same column and then keep going right to force them to move down all the time above a shielded area and win.

Confused me at first as I was trying to control the spaceship (force of habit). Visual style looks nice with the pixelated bloom effect to simulate old CRTs. Good sfx and music.

vrld says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:03am

Very well executed. And once you forget about moving left/right and use only <s> and <space> the controls are not so bad after all ;)

Benjamin says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:34am

Fantastic game top mark for fun despite the controls :)
The S Key is enough for move, maybe that holding it for pause would be even more intuitive.
For the firerate I think that you should slow it a bit because the earthling IA can't handle well a bunch of bullets comming at his face. Maybe going back to the old fashion "one bullet per screen" ( one for each invader ).
You also have a bug on the fire emitter, sometime fire is not available some time its only one of your invader that can fire.
For more than one IA, difference in speed or IA parameters should be added so they dont finish stuck together doing the same moves.
And last ( but not the least ) if you want to work again on this game, I think that evolving invaders would be A.W.E.S.O.M.E I would like to buy more invader for my wave or invest in more expensive ones with better firerate or special habilies ^___^
Oh and I undestand the need for unbreakable protections but you should add breakable ones just for satisfy destructive intent of your players :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]