December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Level

by xandy - Jam Entry

artwork by @herrschor.
The basic idea was, to stop the hero from winning a level by controlling the traps. But we had only time for one kind of trap and one level ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#192Graphics(Jam)3.04
#205Innovation(Jam)2.65
#225Theme(Jam)2.94
#231Humor(Jam)2.13
#260Audio(Jam)1.46
#274Mood(Jam)2.30
#281Overall(Jam)2.45
#282Fun(Jam)2.19

Comments

31eee384 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:53am

Cool graphics! Too bad you weren't able to make more content, though.

saampahlavan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:56am

expand on it. could be cool

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:57am

Interesting concept, but the lack of sound did make a difference. Also, the gameplay wasn't very interesting... I suggest working on that first, before graphics, next time.

dwrensha says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:02am

Nice death animation.
Made me think of this game from 2011: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-20/?action=preview&uid=4463

xandy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:18am

@dwrensha wow. thats really very similar from the game concept.

Team Tibbles says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:37am

I think it's a great start to something that could be really amazing!

Tanner says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:16am

great idea and lovely art style!

Obviously the game could have used a few extra days of finishing up :)

illugion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:23am

I liked the graphics and particles and this kind of game reminds me of death run on counter strike XD

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:01am

Too bad you couldn't get more done, it is a cool concept.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:21am

Interesting gameplay. Few bugs with the text display, though.

atrodo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:21am

Good game, just lacking on the content.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:22am

The graphics and animation are the best part about the game. It's really short, though, and I'd like to see more gameplay. If you get the timing right with the first trap, you just outright kill the dude every time, which gets repetitive. But good work, I'd like to see more!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:09pm

I'm really not sure what's going on here. Maybe slowing the hero down for the first level would help, not sure.

sharbelfs says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:49pm

good concept, just need some different level, nice game

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:49pm

Nice concept, would love to see a fuller version of this game!

rubna says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:50pm

Not too shabby! But it really wasn't that hard, and I had some issues with the text: it staying after I had beaten the game. The concept could be fun, if expanded upon!

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:54pm

You should make it more obvious which spike I'm using. Add a red border?
The pixel art is very good.

awppy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Too easy, and there's a few bugs when displaying the level, but it's a neat idea!

eraldo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:26am

I suggest making it more challenging.

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:30am

Sometimes I thought the controls were a little confusing- might want to make it more obvious which spike is selected

lando walters says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:33am

cool idea, but it needs more content :P

GreenPixelDev says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:01am

Great concept! I would have liked to have seen more level variety but what you have is pretty solid! Keep those level designs coming! :D

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:37am

Graphics were great. Was much too easy. Needs audio and depth.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]