December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Abduct EVERYTHING

by Krankdud - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have come to Earth in your UFO to abduct all those tiny little people.

Controls:
Arrow keys - Move
X - Abduct / Pickup
R - Restart
P - Pause
0 - Volume up
9 - Volume down

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#124Overall3.48
#134Graphics3.62
#180Fun3.24
#183Theme3.62
#218Mood3.07
#222Humor2.96
#271Audio2.70
#290Innovation3.03
#1102Coolness17%

Comments

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:55am

It's a solid little game !

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Very nice! The gameplay feels solid and the game is well polished.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:53am

Nice entry! Like the game idea but fu**ing flash... Can't finish because of lags.

tomvert says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:14pm

Squishing people was a lot of fun.

killmonday says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Cool retro feel!

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:58pm

Playing the first level I was thinking "well this is an interesting idea, but where's the challenge?" - level 2 and beyond was a "this is more like it :)" moment. Really fun and innovative little puzzle game. I think I'd enjoy it more if the craft moved a bit slower - at the current speed I was constantly whizzing past the crates while trying to get in line to pick them up.

haxpor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:11pm

Love squeezing sound effect. I can drag the box and do stuff all day if there's enough people to squeeze.
New things got introduced in consecutive levels, that's great, anyway I feel tired during in the latter mission (around 6-7) that maybe because I feel too repetitive.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:26pm

Super fun, very crisp gameplay!

leafo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:01am

Great game, love the graphics.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:29pm

Really nice game.
Maybe the first squishing phase is a bit too long but, just a detail.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:41am

Nice, tight controls!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:32pm

Awesome retro style. Great pacing and progression with the levels. My one suggestion is to make the beam a bit longer.

J says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:31am

I love how, unlike in many games, you actually move at a decent speed. Unfortunately, I'm still having a little trouble controlling it, since my keyboard is bad and won't do certain diagonals while holding X. This isn't really your fault, but could probably be mitigated by having X toggle the beam instead.

By the way, would you happen to be the Krankdud on the Dustforce leaderboards?

mcc says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 4:43am

This was neat. My favorite thing was the graphics. The game was only fun if you moved recklessly at all times (it would probably improve the game if there were something in the gameplay encouraging that, like a time limit). This was unusually coherent for an LD game, I liked seeing both skill and puzzle sections-- the puzzles weren't super elaborate but it was nice to see an effort for puzzles at all. I liked how a bat causes a UFO to explode. Does it get sucked into a jet intake?

In the early levels the spaces looked very naturalistic and real-world believable, like cities or something, and then you get into the later areas and suddenly the levels are weird and cavernous and video game-y and make no sense as spaces that someone would actually build, there was a nice creeping surrealness there.

JAH2488 says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Great Stuff!

Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Made me want to get out my classic Gameboy :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]