December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Kidnap

by Bzaraticus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the villain - Click to fire at the other ships, once destroyed drag a selection to kidnap the crew. Collecting green numbers provides additional time, but beware of the red penalties. The objective is to capture as many people as possible. Good Luck!

Extract all files from the zip before attempting to run.

Requires .NET Framework 4.5 on Windows, Should also work on other OS's using Mono (untested)

Press M to mute/unmute sounds if they get too annoying

For the adventurous types amongst you the ship designs are saved as xml files. There are separate files for the player ship and enemy ships ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#301Innovation3.00
#507Fun2.54
#525Audio1.78
#569Overall2.63
#572Humor1.95
#624Graphics2.21
#630Theme2.50
#684Mood2.05
#776Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:58pm

Hard to get used to at first because the enemy ships go very fast, and sometimes when you're trying to shoot, the game detects it as a drag instead.

I liked the collection mechanic though, very cool!
If you develop this further, try to pick a shooting sound that's at a slightly lower pitch!

I had it crash once when my bullet hit one of the other ships, and the game's icon was showing up as random icons from other programs on my PC. Very strange.

Good job!

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:58pm

The game itself was very inventive and cool. However i think you could have had separate controls for shooting and capturing because i found myself getting annoyed at it not shooting because it though i wanted to capture them.

Bzaraticus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:00pm

Originally it had separate controls for capturing and shooting, I guess it was a mistake to change that. Sound can also be muted if its too annoying with the M key!

Digiraze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:15pm

My first score is 7, second score is 6. Just can't get used to the control. You know what would be nice, just make it auto-fire, then you left with the left mouse button for capturing the kidnappers. I know it is not old-school, but you still aiming at least. Also, may be make the ship slow at first and faster as you kidnap more people. Just a thought.

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:19pm

34! Is that a good score? I tend to lasso instead of firing, it would probably be better to have one of those one the right click. But nice entry overall!

Bzaraticus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:21pm

34 is good! Have to say i wanted to make it a challenge. very hard to get the difficulty right so that people dont end up with too much time!

Atomic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:32pm

It's an interesting concept. It should consider a very small amount of drag as a shot, that'd make it a lot more fun! The "lace" would also be nicer if it was somewhat smarter. Graphics and sounds are in the right direction but the lack of variety makes you stop playing very quickly.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:42pm

I was able to kill a pile of ships, but wasn't able to collect the people ( I don't think ).

I like the concept - shoot em up + fruit ninja gameplay.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:06pm

Don't use a windows icon as your game icon, that's confusing :P

- I think the gameplay is pretty original, though it's quite hard right now, and somewhat confusing until you figure it out.
- Could use a little tutorial or something
- Could use a bit more variation, or at least some alternating AI or something.
- Graphics are functional, but nothing special.

Bzaraticus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:17pm

Last time I checked it was using a custom icon? :P thanks for the advice though!

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Slightly too fast paced for the size of the playing area I'd say, the selection mechanic is a bit picky with what it accepts as a selection.

Perhaps having fire and selection on different buttons would've been a nice idea, as would lowering the pitch and volume of the sound.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:33pm

:) Pew Pew Pew

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:27pm

Wasn't it a windows-style ini-file icon? Maybe my windows screwed up icons.

Bzaraticus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:36pm

black background with a K in white, just checked, seems to work fine here :o

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:16pm

Nice idea, but I'm a little lost with the capture control.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:07pm

I fot 2x game crash, it seems to happen on some laser collision with targets.
My best score before crash was 94. I think the game is funny, but making the ship faster to increase difficulty dont work. it make the game more frustrating and fail to make it more difficult ( I was always stacking more and more time ).
It would have been great with :
- limited ammo ( start : 10 ? )
- extra ammo in drop
- more difficulty change drops : ( more red, less ammo and green )

Your capture mechanic is perfect, maybe you should make the cliping zone or the grabbed item flash so you can clearly see what you get.

Fenmar says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:08pm

I couldn't play it on my machine (Win7 64bit). Game crashes with "has stopped working" some seconds after start.

master4523 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:20pm

Didn't have any troubles with the controls, the idea is nice and I'd totally imagine a port on tablets/smartphones!

Bzaraticus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Thanks for the advice and praise as usual! I'll try my best to replicate the crash so I can fix it but I havn't been able to do so yet myself.

@Fenmar, do you have .NET framework 4.5 installed?

ceronman says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Interesting concept. The controls and the speed make it hard to play though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]