December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Ino und Rakete

by Adok - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was made in a hurry since I should have actually been working on my Master's thesis. I spent 9 hours coding this game and I needed most of the time to improve the AI of the "good" character so that the game doesn't get too easy. Unfortunately the game crashed several times, and I found out it was not my fault, but there's apparently some nasty bug in the text-output routine that is based on some code snippet from the NeHe website. So I decided to do a workaround and just output a bitmap indicating that you're in a hurry when the countdown reaches 30 seconds. Originally I planned to display number of current level, number of lives of the "good" character and clock. If anybody manages to find out what's wrong with the text-output routine, I'd be very grateful. Otherwise I'll search for another one for my future productions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#533Audio1.70
#637Humor1.76
#735Mood1.50
#742Coolness46%
#761Graphics1.30
#762Theme1.50
#766Fun1.50
#769Innovation1.30
#774Overall1.46

Comments

John says ...
Dec 15, 2012 @ 7:10pm

Hm. Collision seems bit off. Not fun at all. How on earth is this over 4.25MB?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!?!?
And nice penis for the player character!

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:10pm

Sorry, this wasn't fun :( Needs atleast some kind of better visuals and something 'new' to the gameplay

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:16pm

I like the idea, but the game itself isn't so great, unfortunately.

Nonakesh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:28pm

Maybe it could have been more fun if the game was a bit faster, but like this it was just kind of boring...

lucasncv says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:37pm

+humor for the graphics! :D

Start_ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:50pm

Sorry, wasn't fun for me..

ahmedcab says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:19pm

nice idea but the game is veeery limited!!!

Atomic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:46pm

I found the green guy's graphics hilarious but that's about it.

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:47pm

Hehe better luck next time. It's basic but eh, it works! Maybe next time you'll have a bit more time and a bit less bugs slowing you down :)

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:56pm

I agree it can become potentially more fun if more time invested :) Very simple right now.

jfroco says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:09pm

obviously it needs more time but congrats for finishing a game.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:41pm

Looking forward to seeing what you do when given more time (next LD maybe?) :)

Cyboot says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:58pm

thats some strange soundeffects and graphics you have there ;)

good luck on your master thesis!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]