December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Path of Evil

by atraxgames - Jam Entry

Concept
GTA-like game with enphasis on building a gang with minions, and crazy gadget to increase you charisma

Story
Your mother wanted you to be an engineer, but your only desire is to be evil, unspeakably evil.
So you begin your career as a villain: you know that you have to be sophisticated, elegant, cultured. And also you need an evil plan to destroy the entire city.
But first of all, you need money to buy things.

Features:

procedural generated city
rob banks and kill citizens
buy ridiculous clothes to increase charisma
increase charisma to get more minions
cute pixel-art graphic

Notes:
unfortunately we were not able to fix all the bugs in time, and the game is pretty buggy, please be patient, we will work to a post-compo bugs free version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#179Graphics(Jam)3.10
#190Theme(Jam)3.13
#227Audio(Jam)2.21
#256Overall(Jam)2.63
#261Mood(Jam)2.39
#278Fun(Jam)2.23
#289Humor(Jam)1.65
#292Innovation(Jam)2.10

Comments

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:45am

A living bug, you wander endlessly with no one to kill. the art style is nice and very minimalist.

rujo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:59am

very random! :)
just a little bit buggy but graphics are very cute.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:15pm

Didn't really know what to do in this one. Nice concept though.

Yogr says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:29pm

I like the concept. My thugs wouldn't follow me to next area so I'd have to buy new ones each time I robbed a bank.

I can see where you're going with this though and it was fun enough for what you currently have.

Wuhao says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:07pm

nice concept, must be a lot of work creating a big city like this

celsyum says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:10pm

too random. You can keep entering same room until bank or evil is nearby. Also later i got stuck in house when moving to another map. Anyway , I loved the idea :)

Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:18pm

This was well made. The cops show up a bit suddenly though after you rob the bank. It's like they beamed in from the Enterprise. :) Love the art style.

tim_u says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:13am

Nice beginning. Ya, lots of bugs. I'll be interested to see the final version.

uuav says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:20am

A bit buggy on collision, shooting angles for cops seems to be too much aproximated (they keep shooting next to me) but really great mood and pleasant gfx.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:11am

As you mentioned, it's definitely very buggy. Otherwise good though - especially the art and general mood.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:19am

I really like the city artwork!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]