December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Your Mind Hates You

by Peltast - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Your Mind Hates You" is a text-based game where you're playing as your own brain; specifically, the part of your brain that is purely negative and loves to berate you. Your goal is to demoralize and beat down yourself until breaking point.

Lower your health to zero, and you'll be able to take an action that finishes the scenario.

NOTE: If you want to leave a scene in the middle of it, just type "exit".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#132Theme3.74
#172Innovation3.29
#239Humor2.92
#409Mood2.70
#505Graphics2.58
#534Audio1.69
#576Overall2.61
#674Fun2.07
#776Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:45am

Awesome. I fear it is too close to my finals experience, so I will have to play it after I'm done :p

SkyWolf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:36am

Upsetting that he doesn't understand "LEROOOOOY JENKINS" :D on a serious note, i liked it a lot but i'm bad at playing it, maybe you should give some tips instead of "I don't understand". :P

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:37am

This was hard. I couldn't get him to jump.
I like the concept. The graphics were OK and sound is not really necessary for a text bases game.
When I read the instructions I thought 'will the program understand me?" and it didn't most of the time.

kroltan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:41am

I feel so limited on what the dude understands, but nice idea.

spolvid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:41am

Really creative interpretation of the theme, but in practice it's more frustrating than anything because so few commands are recognized. Would like to see this concept expanded with more development time so that it understands more.

raincole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:47am

It's way too hard... I feel clueless after several tries.

LucaPavone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:19pm

It was a little tricky to deal with the text parser, but it definitely was a morbid bit of fun. I got him to punch the computer in scenario 2.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:56pm

Very creative, but too hard as others have pointed out

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:37am

Its a nice start, but this game needs a lot of polish. It took a long time to figure out the stages, as the game really needs to recognize more phrases. The graphics aren't spectacular, but a text game doesn't really need them, so they aren't a problem. I did, however, really like the humor when you type something unexpected (and by that, I mean the you like poop from the screenshot...)Its an okay game, but it just needs so much more before it can become a great game.

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Cool idea. I like to talk with myself sometimes :)

xandy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:49pm

i like the idea but i can only agree with the others that some tips or more sentences would be helpful.

Nolan C says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:02pm

It's just too hard to know what to type, unfortunately.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:15am

Your source code is fun. Looking at the keywords you have reveals a few ideas you didn't seem to get around to (or that I didn't quite find in the game.)

And now *I* am on the receiving end of an open ended game where the controller is everything you can think to input. :)

Peltast says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:01pm

Thanks! I've never had anyone refer to my code as fun! I found coding it to be fun, so maybe it carried over. You're right, some keywords are things I didn't get around to implementing in acceptable statements ("clock" for instance). Some are there, but in obscure ways.

The entire list of acceptable commands isn't actually visible in the source, since I used an embedded text file for that. If for some odd reason anyone's curious, I added an "Assets" download which contains it. It's not very flattering, but oh well.

Anyway I completely, 100% agree with all of the feedback here; the game is way too hard and unresponsive. This was my first text-based game, and I took the task of making a good text-parser way too lightly.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]