December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Lil Assassin

by RylandAlmanza - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*The wall jumps are not like they are in most games! This was intended!

Arrow keys to move, z to jump. Walk up to someone from behind to assassinate. Assassinate the king!

Jump while walking into a wall to wall run. Jump while wall running to wall jump.

It's a small but challenging game!

Jezzamon has brought to my attention the fact that you're not allowed to use free graphics in LD48. So I guess I didn't quite follow the rules, and I won't win (not that I was expecting to,) but hey! It was fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#186Fun3.22
#387Overall2.94
#421Innovation2.72
#535Graphics2.50
#566Theme2.72
#898Coolness36%

Comments

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:02am

It looks like it's in JavaScript -- how about posting a link we can play?

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:03am

Please provide some version of the game that is actually playable. XD

LogiQ121 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:04am

There's no link?!?

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:05am

Took me a second to figure out that the source pretty much IS the entry, since it's a canvas app. You'll get rated a lot more if you post a web-friendly link.

That said, I downloaded the "source" version and opened up index.html in chrome, and it the app didn't pop up, so you've still got a showstopping bug somewhere.

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:10am

I really enjoy the walljumping mechanic you've got going.

Sos says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:12am

Assasination is tricky! I love the concept!

joyboxed says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:13am

This game is awesome I really enjoy the jumping mechanic, takes some time to get how it works but its definitly fun to try it!

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:33am

Nicely done. Much more difficult than it seems at first ...

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:38am

Thanks for commenting with the link! I really appreciated it!

Note that free-to-use graphics aren't allowed in Ludum Dare - you have to make all the content of the game yourself within the 48 hour period.

Good job forcing people to learn to controls from the start, lots of games don't, and then people get annoyed when they can't figure them out.

The theme use was pretty average. Could have been more creative.

Would've been nice to have audio, but better no audio and good gameplay.

I liked the smooth movement and wall jump mechanic. Level design was also good - I kept trying despite many deaths. Overall an enjoyable and fun game!

vrav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:40am

Love it. But I'm biased. Tricky little platformers like this rock my socks. Unofficial ghost run challenge totally worth it. :D

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:44am

Nice wall-jump mechanic!

This game is rather hard and unforgiving! But not in a ragequitting "this is bad design" sort of manner, more of a good, old fashioned challenge that doesn't bug me.

Haven't yet to make it to the king, but will keep trying. (I get greedy with my kills.)

RylandAlmanza says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:58am

Jezzamon: Oh! I thought I just wasn't supposed to use other people's graphics without permission! Whatever, it was fun! I'll pay more attention to the rules next time. Added a note about this.

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:03am

Oops! Did not realize you had re-used graphics. Well, you will know for next time.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:11pm

More difficult (and frustrating) than it looks! Fun and cute graphics. Checkpoints pls!

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:46am

Good walljumping mechanic, it would be nice if you didn't have to complete the entire game in one go without dying though!

namuol says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:53am

Ooo! This is quite difficult, but there's a lot of potential for like, action/stealth puzzles. Really nice. You should add checkpoints though; it's brutally difficult for me to get all the way through. Good stuff overall!

De10ter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:18pm

Liked the look and the concept but didn't get very far.
The first wall jump was the trikiest part and having to repeat it was just so frustrating :(

gnx says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Good on you to acknowledge the issue with the gfx in your post :) Gameplay was actually very good and I enjoyed it, had there been sound I would've rated it higher.

caranha says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:15am

Short but sweet. I really liked the difficulty and the puzzles in the game. The last scene, with all the guards after you kill the king, was well thought out too.

On the other hand, there is room for improvement in the puzzles - I managed to end the game without using the wall-jumping mechanic even once. Running jumps were enough for this game.

As others have mentioned, some sound would have been great for this game - maybe jumping sfx and guard killing sfx? You can generate those using the bfxr tool.

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

nilstastic says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:41am

Good: Good gameplay and nice graphics.
Improve: sound would be nice and perhaps spawnpoints.:)

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:19pm

Walljumping looks and feels nice, and I like the backstabbing mechanic a lot -- I'm surprised it's not more canonical. Most of the time it was a lot easier to just jump past the guards, though. I killed the king and then got plastered; I think that's the end? :)

PS, if you're using graphics not made during the compo, you can just switch to Jam to be street legal? I'm not sure if it lets you do that but IMO that's what jam is for.

csanyk says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Well, I managed to assassinate the King, or someone who looks like him, but then I got mobbed by guards and died instantly. This would have been even better if you respawned at a save point after each obstacle/challenge. I liked the puzzle aspect of how to approach the guards to get them into a position where I could assassinate them easily.

cardboard says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 4:51am

Fun game, but pretty challenging (for me at least). The wall run/jump mechanic was pretty neat. I would probably take some more time to try to beat it if I had more time. It would have been nice to have sound effects and/or music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]