December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Secret Plan

by kevincorrigan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Unfortunately I didn't get this done I only got 2 of the 8 levels I had planned done:(, But their playable:)

To play un zip the file and double click on
"The Secret Plan".exe

############ THE CONTROLS ############
Mouse Movement = Look around
Left Mouse = Shoot
Right Mouse = Iron Sights

############ Objective #############
Destroy the earth by completing the levels.

############ How to Play ############
Basically just shoot the targets.
If you look to the left you can see your score.

Made with blender.

Story:

You are the classic evil villain trying to destroy the earth. To succeed you have to kidnap a scientist to build you a super weapon. Along the way you have to steal uranium, and rocket fuel, while destroying earths defenses, and eventually the earth itself.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/KevinJCorrigan

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#166Graphics3.50
#419Humor2.35
#495Innovation2.59
#505Mood2.53
#519Overall2.72
#529Fun2.50
#546Theme2.78
#553Audio1.57

Comments

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:29am

I got a problem when trying to extract, it said something like: "One file is corrupted".

Your screenshot was appealing :(

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:38am

@theRestlessTaxidermist I'll Re-zip and re-upload, sorry for the issue.

nathanj439 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:41am

Looks cool, but I get "The Secret Plan.exe is not a valid Win32 application."

derdragon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:47am

"The Secret Plan.exe is not a valid Win32 application"... sorry dude

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:50am

It was cool but it's really hard to tell if we have done something without sound ! (also the file is named "The Seceret Plan.exe" you might want to change that ^^) but good job on making a playable game with blender in 48h !

FinalMirage says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:50am

This is a cool idea, wish the scoring system took accuracy into account so it's not just me spamming mouse clicks everywhere. :)
I really liked how everything was laid out, it gave it a very distinct feel (art, level, UI). The level transitions were also very cool, nice job.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:56am

Very Nice game but needs a story

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:25am

Thanks for the feed back! There was a story behind this game unfortunately I didn't have enough time to finish the 8 levels I had planned, and didn't have time to implement every thing, Including adding the small things that would give the details of the story, or sound, title screen, and more interesting scoring systems(accuracy). Perhaps I will add the story to the description of the game.

celsyum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:58am

zip archive is corrupted :(

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:58am

The mouse gets stuck after a while so I can't move it up or down, and the game needs some sound, other than that, great work! :)

berareu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:11pm

It looks very promising, it's a shame you didn't have enough time to do everything you wanted! I really liked the presentation, keep it up :)

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:48pm

Nice shooting-gallery feel. Cool to see something made in blender!

ramoncb says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:14pm

Nice job with the BGE!

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:26am

@Berareu @ix @ramoncb, Thanks, I'm going to try to make a post comp finished version, hopefully with everything I wanted done .

Saisaith says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:56am

Hope you turn this into a full game.

someone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:22am

Couldn't get it to run. The windows build doesn't run in Wine.
Tried running from source in blender, but pressing start only shows 'score 0' on a plain blue screen.
I don't know blender's game engine at all so I don't know whats up.

barkergames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:25am

Corrupt file :(

Norgg says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:30am

Ran fine for me, and I really liked the little cutout people. It'd be nice to see some element in there to make it a bit more challenging, currently it doesn't seem to reward accuracy and you can just click away as much as you want.

brantkings says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:33am

Exaclty what the other people said. Your screenshot is appealing, but the file is corrupted. Don't worry, I won't vote yet.

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:42am

It's alright, the graphics are quite good, and FPS game submissions are rare. I would've liked some sounds, or just visual feedback when I shoot (smoke particles, kickback of the gun, etc.) and music.

DragonKN says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:49pm

i cant move the gun! but i really like the game =)

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Poor cardboard clones...

Nice attempt!

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:33pm

Can't run. :(

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:56pm

Pretty nice game just very entertaining

Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:32pm

I really see potential here. Nice job! Ah, I see it's the Blender engine! I use Blender for my models. How do you find the engine?

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:13pm

@shaneshanekavanagh The engine is great!

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:36pm

Fun game to play, after level3- steal the uranium I got lost, all the people where shot and didn't seem to be able to anything anymore except shooting in the elevator.

This game was really neat! I was amazed when the cardboard moved away showing more :D Your cardboard style = win

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:54pm

@strong99 ya, I didn't get everything done:(

TylerJones says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Really cool shooting gallery vibe. I wish you had more time to get it finished and get some sounds in place. You got an awful lot done for a 48hr jam.

killmonday says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:54pm

Sweet style!

psychopsam says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:45am

Need more sound to add atmosphere. I felt a bit strange silently killing these "targets". I liked the cardboard cutout look of it. Seemed to just loop and so I didn't feel like I was getting anywhere. Nice though.

char68 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:27am

I was able to get the 64-bit version running. It seems like it'd be cool to play with, but without the sound it seemed difficult to figure out if I was doing it right. Perhaps the gun should recoil as well?

FrederickK says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:43am

Hey! Another BGE Game! Nice!
Don't know if was suppose to work this way, but I saw no way that I could lose.
For 48 hours you made many assets and did a good job with BGE.
Great work!

Note: I played the 64bit file and it worked fine. Not sure about the others versions.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:20am

Not bad but a little low on actual "game".

ceronman says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:27pm

Sorry I couldn't download this game. Filedropper says: Error #2046 I will try later.

wlad says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Can't download it :-(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]