Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Super Mario Boss - dredlockz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mario is chilling doing his biz, but who is the dashing turtle in the top hat, I wonder?

Use the arrow keys to move (Up to jump).


It's more a short homage, than an actual game, but hope you like it anyway.

View dredlockz's journal. | View all entries by dredlockz

Ratings

#110Audio3.25
#128Graphics3.64
#217Humor2.97
#392Theme3.15
#418Overall2.88
#435Mood2.65
#478Fun2.61
#722Innovation1.97
#810Coolness44%

Comments

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:18am

A little bug with the collisions, but it's ok XD

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:20am

The control felt a little too slippery. ): I like the art style, though.

cjgammon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:20am

love this!

Razion says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:22am

Clever idea, having the badguy run backwards like that.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:28am

Seconding Razion's comment on the evil player doing the level in reverse (reminds me a little of the ending of Braid) - awesome idea. Couple of quick comments: controls feel a little too floaty/slippery, countdown timer would be good, ability to restart without refreshing the browser would also be good.

Sim says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:50am

The controls need some work, but otherwise a fun little platformer.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:48am

I like the reversing scroll direction idea.

nickworks says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:42am

Nice art!

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:36am

Lovely. Loved the graphics and music. Running left was quite an adjustment :D

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:38am

The graphics and audio are a flattering homage to the franchise. If you continue to develop this, when I am next to pipe and jump, I don't go up, which I would expect to from Super Mario Bros. I also feel a little strange not being able to backtrack.

GameRespect says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:41am

A well put together game!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:34pm

I agree that going backwards was cool, nice take on the theme

rvmook says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:46pm

Great art and music. Controls feel a bit weird at times but that didn't stopped me form finishing your game.

blob says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:11am

Nice idea to reverse the scrolling. I wish you punched the princess in the end.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:48pm

Like the graphics and the music :)

Aside from the controls/physic it's good , maybe a bit too short.

Cyboot says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:23pm

nice game, of course much too short. But good job nevertheless :)

Floko says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:44pm

cute graphics and music =] controls and collision are a bit weird indeed xD

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:52am

Kinda cool but nothing was really explained. Who was the character I was controlling? Why did Mr. Plumber fall down? Why was he surprised in the first place? Why am I going to a castle? Still, art was nice and the music was neat. Fun while it lasted.

bugninja says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Nice concept. I'm a sucker for Mario ... anything, and the game art was nice - I like that you didn't copy the original too closely and it really felt like it was its own game. (if that makes any sense)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]