December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Crystal City - Build your Meth-Empire

by wlad - Jam Entry

Feel yourself like an evil badass and build your meth-empire in Crystal City. You can sell meth in nine different districts but to do so you have to bribe the police in each borough first. Beware of the running expenses of your company and the temptation to gain a lot of money in very short time. As the villain you can enjoy watching the whole city become addicted to your deadly product.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#135Mood(Jam)2.95
#135Theme(Jam)3.45
#142Audio(Jam)2.95
#147Graphics(Jam)3.30
#201Innovation(Jam)2.68
#203Fun(Jam)2.63
#209Humor(Jam)2.26
#211Overall(Jam)2.81

Comments

TDRGames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:08am

Sorry, this is too much like work :)
Smooth out the interface, get rid of dialogs, pick up the pack, add a soundtrack, and you'll have a pretty fun game. Then you've gotta spice it up somehow...

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:06pm

It looks very nice but I didn't get far... The idea, graphics and feel are perfect but the rules are not clear when you start. (I missed the next turn) Managed to sell 5 gram of drugs I think ^^ then I got shot by my employees? Turn 8 or something :/ :D

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:57pm

I couldn't get passed 31% but anyway's, good game i had fun playing it.

Wuhao says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:01pm

mmm, i couldnt see the left most city. anyway, the game has nice graphic and sound which translates to good mood

juaxix says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:12pm

And the gamification?

myachin says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:23pm

2POLEZHAEV!

lorancou says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:27am

Nice game! I got addicted :)
There's a little bug with map scrolling, I couldn't scroll to the left-most cities until I resized my window. A blocker as the first city where you can bribe the police is on the left -> you should really fix that!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:08am

I really liked the artwork style! And the dying sound is to die for!

It looks a big project but it feels mostly complete. Very nice entry!

wlad says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:22pm

Thank you for the feedback so far!
@juaxix: We planned to add some missions and random events to make it more challenging and goal-oriented. But the lack of time, you know...
@lorancou: Thank you for finding this scrolling-bug, it really needs to be fixed.

juaxix says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:28pm

Thanks for your words @wlad :)

arhpositive says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Nice graphics and atmosphere. :) I thought I figured out how to keep the money in balance after the first two cities, but I was proved wrong before I could try out the third one. :)

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:09pm

Interesting concept. The interface was rough. Didn't like that I couldn't go over to the toolbar to the right without moving the map. Wasn't sure where to start. Continually ran out of money. Cool concept - could use more work.

someone says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:07am

Nice concept. I couldnt figure out how to make any profit though.

Encircle says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:47pm

Fun game, but I can't seems to find a way to make money. Oh well.

raincole says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:41am

then I move mouse to click interface the viewport moves along. It's annoying. But the windy background music is great.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:41pm

Nice graphics!!!! i like the ambient that it gives, i also like the sound on the background! :D GREAT JOB!!

Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:32pm

Great job! Looks great and sounds even better. There are some UI quirks but nothing unbearable. It seems a decent strategy, at least in the beginning, is to hire a cook briefly, turn all your money into meth, then fire him while you take a few turns to push your stockpile to the streets.

Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:50pm

I see the simulation favors chasing high margin clientele over servicing the lower margin, more numerous areas.

Nice bit of work went into this. The sound effects really bring it to life.

Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:55pm

After the point where making money is no longer a problem, I can't get the addiction bar beyond 33% or so. With technology and cooks maxed out at 10, I simply can't produce enough meth to keep all towns supplied.

It would also be nice if you could see a breakdown of how much was sold in each town, and what price it fetched.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:09pm

The game seems to have potential but is really too difficult. I can't go very far. Anyway, i like the way you use the theme, your game is unique, based on the 70 games i tested. A very good point :)

Dew says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:28pm

Heisen Berg xDDD

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]