December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Green Grump

by nickusername1 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Very very basic. Arrows to move and jump. 'P' to pause. No sound or fireballs:(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#394Graphics2.85
#545Humor2.00
#599Audio1.22
#629Mood2.25
#670Coolness49%
#678Fun2.06
#687Theme2.25
#713Overall2.21
#747Innovation1.72

Comments

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04am

I couldn't get past the first enemy. :(
But the ice and other graphics look nice.

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:07am

Hi, It's a pretty nice job, need to work on graphics and other levels now. :)

thristhart says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:09am

Trying to be as constructive as possible. There's a lot of room for polish, so I'll just point out some things I'd like to have seen.
1) Conveyance. I only realized I was supposed to be a grinch-like character at the very end. (right? I'm not actually sure about even that). Even if just a wall of text, give me some context for my actions!
2) Jumping is far too abrupt. Add a little "float". Something that might help: vertical momentum should continue in the air, even after I've let go of the arrow keys.
3) Music! Would help make it more charming. Obviously, this isn't always possible, and I don't fault you for not including it.

Those things said, the sprite art is very charming. You make very good use of limited size. It is very obvious what everything is supposed to be (no easy task). Your platforming puzzles, though simple, were difficult enough to be entertaining for the duration.

Make more!

Manuel777 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:45am

So.. you cant kill enemies?

crashbanito says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:40am

The art that is there looks pretty good. The problem is that everything is so tiny that you have to squint to make out certain objects.

nickusername1 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:24pm

@Manuel777 I had to comment out the fireball code at the last minute, the collision wasn't working right.
Also, the illusion that the last four enemies kill you only holds as long as you don't touch them... oops.

De10ter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:00pm

I couldn't get past the first hard jump, the one with the parallel platforms 0_o

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:21pm

very cute graphics, really liked the parallax :)

pfirsich says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:44pm

Really nice graphics. It's a bit unfinished, but definitely not a bad foundation! Falling should feel a bit more natural (accelerated) and starting the level off with probably the hardest jumps of all is not very motivating.

Xavier says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:25am

Very slooooow. Nice background and parallax effect, but the characters are too small to see its details. Take care of the tipography

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:48am

Green Grump is an awesome name. The jumping was super hard. I hope green grump gets home for christmas.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Well done for a 48h entry ! Too bad you can't finish the fireball ^^

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]