Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The TIme Master - barret907k - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an entrepreneurial super villain that has found the key to Time. Collect all the Crystals and you will control time but beware the world doesn't like for you to collect crystals.

Little bugy. You will run into heap errors and some random seg faults. Just kill the app and try agian.
Then Goal is 50 time crystals. Kind a simple game but my engine doesn't realy work all that well.

I will try to port to windows tomorrow. SInce cocos2dx does support it I don't see why not.

View barret907k's journal. | View all entries by barret907k

Ratings

#1048Coolness22%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:58pm

I managed to successfully install the game (with `adb install ludum48.apk). Unfortunately, it crashes very quickly on my phone - usually before I've even pressed 'play'. I don't feel able to rate this based on the six seconds of gameplay I was able to have.

My phone is a Samsung Galaxy Note II.

boxerbomb says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:41pm

I dont have an android but good idea

Marco Jonkers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:51pm

Very unstable (Samsung Galaxy S2). I think I've seen enough of the game based on your description and my time spent in the game to rate it.

The game is pretty hard and unforgiving. I like the player's sprite, but the rest all lacks detail. You've probably spent a lot of time trying to get it to work at all, so I won't be harsh :)

halemaster says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:34am

Seems to crash on the Windows port every time I get hit by a bullet, either right when I get hit, or when I go to restart. Not sure how to get an error log with the port, if I figure than out I'll try to get one for your.

Ace says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:57am

So, I tried playing this on windows but I have no idea if it works like it should. I managed to collect all of the crystals but nothing happened after that, and the game kept crashing all of the time.
The virtual joystick does cover way too much of the screen though, making it hard to see what's going on in the lower left corner.

raubana says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:45am

Missing MSVCP100D.dll

Niavlys says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:14am

Too much crashes to be able to fully enjoy the game, but is seems nice. I like the movement (I played the Android version), maybe a bit too fast though? Other than that, I can't really tell, as I wasn't able to play for more than a few seconds.

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:37pm

Couldn't run, MSVCP100D.dll missing :(

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:31am

@Mista Koo: Me too :-/

ceronman says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:25pm

Same MSVCP100D.dll error here. Sorry.

wademcgillis says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Crashes a lot. Other than the crashing, it's super difficult. The joystick causes you to move far too quickly, and I kept dying because I slid into the cannons. Avoiding the balls is easy.

chribs says ...
Oct 20, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Source is down :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]