December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Vampyr (Incomplete)

by ghotifrye - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I played around with a few ideas for the theme of 'villains,' but kept coming back to Vampires. The game was supposed to be a game where you play a vampire in 19th Century England, feeding off the populace and dodging the authorities and other entities that were out to rid you from society. Unfortunately, this weekend was pretty busy so I wasn't able to spend as much time working on the project as I would have liked.

There's not much to the game, but you can run around as a vampire and bite the people that walk around the streets.

Shift gives you super speed, and using space next to targets will let you bite them.

I had a lot of fun with this project, and learned a lot this time around (especially in regards to the animation pipeline with blender/unity). I will be continuing this project, though probably at a slightly slower pace.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#652Overall2.42
#1081Coolness20%

Comments

SXPanda says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:16am

Your link is telling me to install Unity Web Player, even though I already have it. I think there must be something wrong with the html file.

svenardo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:26am

Nice animations! Some sprites just disappear while I chase them (mostly the black ones), and couldn't figure out what enchant does. Good concept though.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:28am

Sucking blood? Awesome!

The buildings not being "done" isn't that bad, actually, but it would help a lot if there were the same level of quality. The smoothed, untexture ones are ok, the "blocks" stand out sorely.

ghotifrye says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:50am

Thanks for playing! I didn't manage to get around to modeling the two block buildings that are in the demo. Since I'll have more time, I'll probably add a tiny bit more detail to the residential buildings as well.

If you're using Chrome, there's some issue with Unity Web Player. I haven't found a workaround for it yet, but it does work with FF, IE, or Safari.

Enchant was going to be an ability where you hypnotize the characters and put them temporarily under your control. It should be working in a future non-LD rerelease.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Undoubtibly you are the villain. you kill harmless people that do nothing to harm you. other than that the game didn't seem to have an ending. i got 100 points and killed everyone.

dekart says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:49am

Found only one victim to bite, but love the animations anyway

Pitoum says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:00am

Too bad you couldn't go further, it's a great start. Looking for a post compt version :)

Neonlare says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:49am

Victims were a bit few and far between, but I liked the look of it, very retro-esque 3D in and abouts.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]