December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Credit

by ElScootro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The year: 2005. You are selling houses to sub-prime mortgage borrowers. Your mission is to get rich before you crash the US economy.

Instructions: WASD or directional keys to drive. Click on customers to get be their agent and pick them up, click on For Sale signs to sell customers a house. If the price is higher than their loan, you can't sell. You can also scout the area by clicking signs without a customer.

EDIT: Fixed a bug where some customers were not selectable.

I didn't even know about the goat thing until after I submitted. Could have been better communicated.

I barely got a playable entry in, but I think the driving feel and concept are pretty good. I plan on continuing to make this game, I really wanted to get to build the bank and the in-between scenes where you have an avatar that is a greed banker, but so it goes.


I think there is a lot of potential to make it both fun and educational.

Thanks to @thepixelbrain for a random Twitter reply that lead me to a better concept for villainary! I was originally going to be a bank robber, but the bankers are much better villians!

I used Cocos2X-HTML5 and an open source engine I've been working on for the engine. This project was a good way to make new things for the engine and have a fun game dev exercise as well!

https://github.com/mcscooter/cocos2d-html5-orthogonal-tile

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#365Theme3.21
#397Humor2.39
#457Innovation2.66
#668Graphics2.09
#689Mood2.00
#720Overall2.17
#746Fun1.74

Comments

davidwparker says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:41am

I love the villainous of this game :)
Sound would have been nice (car/cash sounds).
I'm totally right there with you on lack of time!

I used Cocos2d-html5 (with CocosBuilder). What are your thoughts on Cocos2d?
Where/what is your engine? The orthogonal-tile GitHub link?

ElScootro says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:06pm

Thanks! Would have loved time for sound, I literally finished the money collection mechanism at 8:50pm EST!

The engine is the Github link. I've been working on an open source engine built on Cocos2d for a while. I really like CC2D, and have one release on iPad called Samurai Duel that's moderately successful. I need to get familiar with Cocos builder too.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:43pm

This was a game that was strange, I do like the evil in stealing gravestones.

tompudding says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:59pm

Very cool idea, amongst the most villainous themes I've seen! It was quite confusing at first, but I got the hang of it just in time to crash the global economy, yay!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:06am

Cool concept, but ultimately I found myself a little bit confused. Overall I think it's a great concept. It's very performant even when I make my browser huge.

Arakade says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:54am

Great concept. Lovely 8-bit era feel to the graphics (though I half want Super-Cars / GTA-1 physics on the driving despite it being pointless ;-) )
Had expected to find the customers walking the streets and that the field of coins was a plot for sale. Obviously after driving looking, I realised what I'd missed :-)
p.s. I've fixed my game since your review <nudge, nudge> :-D

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:40am

Good idea, it's a shame that you only had a weekend to build this - I'd like to see a more complete implementation!

Per says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:43pm

So evil!
The worst crime of all: theft of money

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:22pm

Creative idea for being villainous, the gameplay needs to be a bit more fluid, though. Like if you've clicked on a house, maybe its price should appear on the map so you don't need to click on it again. It seems like the ideal strategy would be to match customers with as expensive a house as possible for them, but I didn't get a good sense of whether I was executing this strategy well.

laaph says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:18am

Quite confusing.

AdricZero says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:14pm

I read the directions, but still had a hard time at first figuring out what to do. I gave it a second try and it clicked for me. It was a lot of fun after I understood I had to go scouting first, try to find the most expensive houses, then try and get the customers sold on those expensive houses. It did get a little repetitive after that. It might have been more challenging if there was a competitor.

garygreen says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:56pm

I liked the idea of you being the banker, but I found it hard to understand how to progress through the game. I clicked on the people with the $ sign heads and then the houses, but wasn't sure if I was doing it right or not.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]