December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

PsyGoat

by SecondDimension - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My game is a platformer about an evil goat with telekinetic powers, your goal is to escape from a high-security prison for animal super-villains. The first level is a really quick tutorial, so just follow the instructions in-game for controls. [EDIT: There is a Typo Which says to use W and A to move. Ignore that, it's A and D.]

The gameplay is basically run and jump, but you use the mouse for your 5 super-powers;
1. Telekinetic Guns
2. Laser Eyes
3. Stop Time
4. Shield
5. Explosions!

--------------------------------------------------

This was my second LD I had real fun making the game, I did run out of time, so it is a very short game and there is absolutely no challenge at all. You can play it all the way to the end though, so just try it out and have fun with the powers. I was going to do more with the theme too, there were going to be other super-villain animals as boss battles, but I think that was a bit ambitious.
Thanks for reading, hope you all enjoy it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#42Audio3.57
#70Fun3.55
#82Overall3.58
#93Humor3.43
#134Mood3.26
#159Graphics3.55
#229Innovation3.16
#230Theme3.50

Comments

Xheis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:17am

Played through to the 5th or so level. I enjoyed what you've made.

SirJson says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:45pm

Hell yeah! No one can stop my Psy Goat :3

Ditto says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:35pm

Pretty solid gameplay, but the game became a bit stale after a couple of levels, also some indication that you hit an enemy would be nice : )

Kmad says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Lots of fun, I really enjoyed the super powers - the laser eyes are perhaps a bit overpowered but the effect is cool. Good work on getting a platformer done in the time.

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:05pm

Really solid gameplay. Super impressive for such a short amount of time. Love the tutorial - very nicely done.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Thanks for the comments everyone. I think the criticism that the levels are similar is completely fair, I spent so long on the mechanics that I just couldn't devote enough time to level design.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Also, I'm so happy someone liked the tutorial! (because it took me hours and made me cry a bit)

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:17pm

I liked it - compelled me to play to the end. It's a bit like serious sam - with a goat. It was rather easy but it was fun :)

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:20pm

Very fun, thanks for submitting! The guns and power varieties were the best parts. I wish you had time to finish D:

stigmawall says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:15am

Very good game, the tv filter its a very good idea also. And i don't need to talk about the guns, the other comment says all.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:28am

The laser was very satisfying!

AyCe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:23pm

AWESOME! :D Telekinetic goats ftw! Also, great soundtrack! Of course very easy, and the specials were quite useless, since your turret guns could finish off any enemy while you were save 1 block below. Completed the game with 5 health ^^

Jiddo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:56pm

A bit stale controls, but I sure liked the powerups and shooting with telekinetic guns! One small annoyance was that the selected powerup defaulted to laser eyes in each new room. I really liked the music!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:02am

Nice work! i like how the Goat look like xD the controls are smooth and i also like the POWERS!

Almost says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:46am

It seemed like the explosions did no damage and the shield and time slowing didn't feel very useful, but being able to shoot through walls for 1 hit kills with the laser was pretty good.

I wish the laser didn't have as much of a delay, a 1 second or 0.5 second delay would've felt more natural.

Starspell says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:41am

For some reason using the laser eyes crashed my computer ^^; . I'll have another go on a different computer when I get the chance.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:01pm

@Starspell - That's a strange crash, I think the sprite for that laser is heavy on the transparency effects so it could be a graphics card issue. I hope you get it working, thanks for trying anyway

Klakwa says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:22pm

Very cool one !

Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:55am

Good work. Needs more IA for enemies

BrothersT says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:01am

Weehey, I liked it! The unlimited special moves made it a bit easy but this is by far the best platforming I've experienced this comp. Well done!

goerp says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:54pm

haha, I liked the graphics. Music was good as well.
For some reason the goat reminded me of the goat of darwineatscake(http://www.darwineatscake.com).
The hard thing for me was doing the doublejump with direction with my left hand. I'm not used to doing so mouch coordinated stuff with my left hand, WASD is OK, but WASD AND space?
Good game, though!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:30am

Quite fun, though there's no challenge to it, as the AI is completely clueless. The controls felt a bit awkward too.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:22pm

I really hope you continue working on this project as it has the potential to be an exceptional game. Clearly you are aware of the balancing issues. Control issues are another area that needs improvement. I would have had w for jumping as hitting the space bar is awkward with one hand on the keyboard and the other using the mouse. Found the lasers to be awesomely overpowered while the explosion under-powered.

madpew says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Played it til the end. The floating weapons are a bit strange to get used to, but the secondary attacks are nice. Some more enemy types would have been great.

Beerman says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Balance is a little on the easy side, but that was fun. Laser eyes and floating machine guns are always awesome :D

Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Nice usage of both themes!

The game plays very well, wish the levels had been designed around using the different powers though, because the laser eyes were most fun but also the only worthwhile power to use. The enemies gave no challenge at all.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 4:09am

Not bad, not bad at all! Try biting off a little less next time (less powers, less features) so you can really flesh out what you have and make it interesting.

Datw says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Nice!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]