Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
? DAYS, ??:??:??

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
? DAYS, ??:??:??

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX

ANNOUNCEMENT BAR! I tell you event things here, but only sometimes.


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Overlord - dekart - Jam Entry

A small real-time strategy written with HTML5, Javascript, and Playcraft.js framework.

Plot:

You're the evil Overlord, and you should expand your possessions. You can build new estates, but you have to keep your level eye on your buildings and units to make them work.

How to play:

1) Build mines to get gold, wells to get mana
2) Build graveyards and mud to train skeletons and mutants
3) Hover your mouse over the graveyards and mud to start training soldiers
4) Hover your mouse over the skeletons and mutants to embolden them
5) Build enough units to destroy enemy castle

Have fun :)

View dekart's journal. | View all entries by dekart

Ratings

Coolness61%
#215Fun(Jam)2.58
#219Overall(Jam)2.78
#234Graphics(Jam)2.72
#269Mood(Jam)2.32
#276Innovation(Jam)2.25
#286Theme(Jam)2.43
#289Humor(Jam)1.65

Comments

agmcleod says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:39am

Haha, +1 for heroku :D. Did you use a particular library for this?

herovis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:42am

I enyoied playing of this game :)

sanojian says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:10am

Pretty fun. Would have been good if enemy was different color so you could tell what was happening better. I won but got no winning screen. Also, buildings should have been cheaper. Basically first one to kill enemy building wins. Good game, was fun!

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:09am

Nice, although it's difficult knowing what's going on: what are my minions doing... or even if they are MY minions at all! :D

ananasblau says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:21am

You slapped skeletons onto it but that doesn't make you the Villain if the opponent is also skeletons. RTS are a tough genre and I don't think you balanced it right. A second important thing in RTS games is how much information you show, the player has a certain limit he can handle, but your game is far from showing enough information.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:39am

Hey found your game on twitter ;D

Quite liked it one of my idea was similar to yours but I didn't picked it finally. It was inspiring to play your implementation.

One thing that's missing is more information about how much things cost (building, units, etc..).

Good job!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:14pm

I agree with other comments made regarding balance issues. RTS is an incredibly challenging genre and I give you props for it, just next time let others playtest more and always show more information. Id rather be overloaded than to not have enough.

donmilham says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:01pm

Pretty fun once I understood the hover to train / deploy mechanic. Neat little RTS.

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:43pm

RTS is very ambitious. But it's a bit out of theme...

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:57pm

Nice game!
It should have some ingame instructions though :)
At first I thought I was going to defend the castle :)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:43pm

Developing a well executed RTS is an extreme task for LD, you overall made a good job, with a couple major disappointments. I agree with other comments about your game needing more ingame instructions. It also needs something to differentiate between player skeletons and AI skeletons.

Mago says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:35pm

Cool game, need some polishing (espesialy wining/loosing screen)

Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:01am

2 graveyards and you're the winner :)
Yet it was pretty fun to play, thanks!
P.S. I was really missing the info about how much do those buildings cost.

xBlinkedx says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:03am

Interesting, I really like the graphics style, a bit confusing at first though.

Ace says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:53am

Pretty fun game, though it was a bit confusing knowing what was yours and what was the enemies. Also was a bit confusing about when to hover over the buildings at first.

davidwparker says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:57pm

Interesting little game. Sound would be nice. I like the concept, but it was pretty hard the first couple of times until I figured it out.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:38am

Full marks for ambition, and a very nice art style.

Raptor85 says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:37pm

I like the graphics but they could have used more animation, feedback on what the units did or how the buildings worked/how much they cost would have been nice also. I didn't like the mouse hover, it would have been more fun if it just auto-built, and it would have been nice to have a way to tell which units were mine or the AI's.

Jan 4, 2013 @ 6:57pm

It took me a while to grasp the hover mechanic, but I think it's a great idea. Would have caught on to it better if the cursor was something like an evil hand and there was some visual feedback when hovering over things. Nice work.

Amos Wenger says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:43am

A nice effort! One remark though: I had trouble figuring out exactly how to play: maybe in-game instructions would have been useful. Also, the gameplay would be much smoother if there were more feedback when you do an action (loading bar when training units, attack animation, different colors for enemies).

Looking forward to your next LD entry!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:41am

Fiendishly difficult, and a bit unclear what you're supposed to do.
Decent start.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]