December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Rogue Thief Stealer Person

by Lasty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first entry.

Steal the loot while avoiding the guards.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#96Graphics3.81
#376Theme3.19
#422Overall2.87
#471Mood2.60
#512Audio1.87
#518Fun2.52
#541Humor2.04
#608Innovation2.33

Comments

TheCze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:14am

Nice little game. Graphics are looking pretty good and I ALMOST won :D

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:22am

I'd love to play this, but sadly I get
Unable to load mono library from "C:/Users/XXXXX/Desktop/DAJ_LD25_COMPLETE/BUILDS/DALD25_Data/Mono/mono.dll" (error = 126).

Lasty says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:14am

That's weird because Its written in C++ not C#/mono .. I Also built it on C:/Users/.../Desktop/LD25/ so I wonder if something else is going on at your end? :(

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:31am

Hang on, I might've mistakten it for something else. Hmmm... SORRY! It totally works!

Nice game! Love the graphics, the bevelled tiles work really well. The speech-bubbles are great :)

soupy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:50am

I won! I really liked the lighting in the game. The camera movement accompanying the player movement was distracting. I'm not really sure why the camera started so far zoomed in, it seems strictly better to always be zoomed out to check out what the guards are up to.

CappaGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:13am

It's nice to see a 3d game for a change. It looks good.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:57am

Found the camera movement annoying. Managed to get all 30 loot, and got myself caught afterwards just for kicks.

Verrazano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:05am

It's a pretty good looking game, though the camera is a lil shaky and the textures get flubbered when you zoom out. also you might want to look into fixing the win condition where by you run through the level and collect the cash while getting caught. Other than on my second play through I didn't get caught once and it was quite fun, good job.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:41am

Found a bug. I got caught but I can still move around and when I collect all the loot. It shows You win and Caught! on the screen at the same time.

Razion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:05am

Camera movement is disorienting. Pretty lighting. Interestingly enough, I lost and then was able to keep playing and win.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:07am

Neat 3D, not much in terms of gameplay.

Jlebow says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:12am

Pretty fun.

Lasty says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:14am

Thanks for the comments guys...
1: Lighting! Yes my first attempt at multiple lights GLSL shader
2: Yeah camera was annoying, no time to fix, (was going to have it rotate behind the player or something)
2: It's a feature not a bug to get caught and keep playing/winning :D
3: Yeah gameplay not that great, I had grand ideas of putting in switches/gates/doors/alarms/safes/chests, and better AI than a firefly from boulderdash :)

ddionisio says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:20am

Looks like you went nuts with the lighting on this one :P Also when I got 'caught', it didn't seem to stop me from looting more. That's pretty villainous now that I think about it!

sanderman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:28am

I like the graphics, though the most important part (the player) seems primitive compared to the rest.

Gameplay needs more work. I was able to run past all the guards merely by switching fast enough through their view so they don't notice. Make it more strict/difficult and it might get a lot more interesting.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:09am

The lighting is nice but the camera was getting me sick after a while. The rubber banding was too tight and jerky, and really needs to be smoothed out.

FrederickK says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:40am

Very cool! It is Unreal?

pfirsich says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:36pm

I'm a little motion sick and the camera ist really hard to cope with. Also really not much gameplay-wise. The graphics are nice though!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:03pm

Nice one! There's a game here ready to happen, I'd love to see what becomes of it.

juaxix says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:24pm

I like the graphics, fix the camera movement and add visible speheres of the enemies vision

doos says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:45pm

Fantastic, but I couldnt find the backstab button.. :)

monomanio says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:56pm

This was pretty nice. I like the lighting!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]