December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Zombie Salvation

by pfirsich - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're leading the zombie apocalypse!

Controls:
* Clicking on bases selects them.
* With left shift + left click you can issue the creation of a zombie, which then waits in the base.
* By left clicking + holding left ctrl you can command a zombie to leave the base and walk to the point you clicked on.
* Left clicking a zombie selects it and by right-clicking you can command it to walk to the place you clicked on.

People gather in malls or hospitals to protect themselves from the zombie apocalypse (which you should think of as a "zombie salvation" (hence the name)). You should assimilate them by walking near them and thereby starting a fight, which hopefully results in a delicious meal for your zombies. The zombies are too dumb to engage in a fight themselves, so you have to to "push" them into their food. If people are confronted with too many zombies, they flee (and won't attack or counter-attack, so you should attack using groups/hordes of zombies), otherwise they might engage in a fight.
Your currency is Brains, which you need to create zombies and you earn by eating people. The maps are randomly generated, so every time playing should give you a different experience! (If any experience at all :D)

Have fun! (Please..)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#321Theme3.30
#348Innovation2.91
#356Graphics2.97
#530Audio1.71
#539Mood2.45
#560Fun2.42
#565Humor1.96
#644Overall2.43

Comments

Follett says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:27am

IF expanded upon this could be really great. It took me a while to find a base and the fact that the Zombies didn't auto attack annoyed me. Having to move hoards of zombies 1 by 1 was also frustrating.

But once I got over that I actually found my self enjoying it and it was also really innovative. Good work!

Zathalos says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:00am

Yeah, the controls take some getting used to. Once I got the zombies moving though, it was pretty cool. I love the film grain effect and the game concept. With better controls the game would be a lot better.

Btw, after a zombie is created, if u left/right click at the same time while holding control outside the base, the game crashes. Good work though :)

Sam Driver says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Controls are pretty fiddly but it's a neat idea and otherwise well implemented.

AlexFili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:14pm

Not sure if something's wrong, but I can't seem to do anything. There's no audio and I can't make zombies appear.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:29pm

It's alright but zombies should be able to be selected in groups, if this were a full game I would buy it.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Idea is very very good. The controls are complicated though and the game lacks a little "soul" :)

dansludumdare says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:07pm

At first, didn't know the green things only were bases, didn't even know you could scroll.

I made 2 zombies, from different bases, attacked, lost one, and then as I think I was about to lose the other, but the game crashed.

Excellent currency choice.

jujule says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:15pm

After reading comments, I sort of understood what to do but even though the zombie creation gauge reached 100%, no zombie ever poped out of the base. Unplayable... Pitty, this look like fun.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:41pm

I liked the idea, but controls are hard to deal with - a selection square would drastically change the way the game is played.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:53pm

Could have been better if it was easier to control your hordes, but otherwise very well done.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:32pm

Wish I could play, but alas, I cannot play windows games. Looks really fantastic though. Congrats on submitting!

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:14am

I wanted to create a zombie, the progress went up to 100%, but then nothing happened. Then I just randomly clicked a few times, selecting different bases, etc. and then the game crashed.

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:14am

Is it possible to get a Web/Mac build?

Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:38pm

The idea is so cool, i was very lost at the beginning hehehe but great job! :D

ceronman says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:21pm

The game is interesting, but there are some usability problems. The controls are hard to use and there is no visual feedback when you select a base or create a zombie. Some times I couldn't select a base once a zombie was out.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:08pm

This is a very innovative idea and a great take on the theme. But the controls are very weird. It took me about 5 minutes to get how this works, even with your explanations (what's a base ? Why can't I see the zombies in the base ?...)
Fortunately, it still managed to be fun once undestood!
Maybe it would have been better with smaller maps, because a game could be pretty long this way!

Good job anyway!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]