December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

2012: Mayan Revenge

by littleball - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's 2012 and the end of the Mayan calendar is here. It's your job to destroy the world!

Take out wave upon wave of troops, as the apocalypse takes place.

The game will fit inside your browser window. To make it run faster re-size your browser and refresh the page.

It runs faster on Chrome and Safari. Firefox will run slower, but without difficulty.

Internet Explorer 9+ works without sound.

(Now with added goat!)

EDIT: I've added a post deadline version, in which you can pause the game and mute the sounds. Other wise it's the same game. You should mark me on the first link.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#123Fun3.39
#147Graphics3.58
#169Audio3.00
#178Overall3.34
#239Humor2.92
#260Mood2.97
#380Innovation2.82
#403Theme3.13

Comments

boxerbomb says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:48am

This game is really fun!I played it 3 times.
BUG: one time i got a glitch that wouldn't let me shoot or let my health drop.

dredlockz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:46am

That is awesome! is there a win state? or is it running forever?

littleball says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33am

It will go on forever. The last 'enemy' is a goat!

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:42am

These guys just keep on coming, don't they?! Haha... Can I have level break every once in a while, please? ;)

Well done! :)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:14am

I liked that you could go through the other side of the window I got a good laugh when I when so fast it went backwards >.<

rumachine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:06pm

It's almost here, the end of the world. Glad I got to play this game first.

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:08pm

Very fun! Removing score for missing a shot was kind of annoying though.

har_g says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:11pm

Very good, but it seem you do it for the end of the world theme (the one i vote too). It's well realized. There is strange stuff like if you go to the left, you come back at the extreme right. and if you shoot on the ground, you explode yourself. But i enjoyed it.

fakeshadows says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:28pm

Awesome! I'm useless at this game yet I keep playing...what gives?

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:39pm

Effective concept, I like the control of the pyramid (even if the acceleration is sometimes a bit rough).

strong99 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:25pm

Nice game! And they're thankful I was the villain :P The world couldn't be ended by me :( Nice graphics and game mechanics.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:40am

Haha awesome, great game!

haxpor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:48pm

I lauge out loud when seeing the game over message that "the world didn't end", ha ha. Nice work!

otus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:44pm

Amazingly good entry. I'm definitely impressed!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Really cool idea behind this game, I like! it was pretty difficult to control though, but it was fun game, loved the game over message.

joekinley says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:12pm

Fun little game. I liked the graphics and the theme approach. The audio was awesome. Also it was really fun and humorous.
The controls were a bit hard to grasp at first, and i needed 2 deaths to figure out that shooting is on SPACE. Well then I had a blast. Good work.

leafo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:35am

This game is cool. It was challenging in a good way.

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:45pm

Amazingly good fun! I have literally no criticisms!

Hume says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:49pm

I think this game is easier than you intended on a big monitor.

I'm a big fan of the rotate-thrust control scheme. Nice use of it here.

The rate of fire seemed a little low initially, and I would have loved to see power-ups.

+1 did enjoy.

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:53pm

I loved the whizzing about! Very fun mechanic alone. Simple and effective. Also the sound effects are pretty nice in a nostalgic kind of way.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:41pm

The gameplay was reminiscent of Solar Jetman, and that game was pretty unforgiving too; fortunately, I don't have to contend with crashing this little pyramid around like I did in Solar Jetman, haha.

The little soldiers remind me of Advance Wars. Orange Star!

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:34am

It's pretty cool. I didn't realize at first that I was to fly the pyramid so I almost quit because I couldn't move. Once I was up, it was great. Noticed that input seemed to be frame based instead of time based, it played quite differently when there were more things going on.

lorancou says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:00am

Great! Took me a while to figure out how to take off but once I got it, this started to be really fun :) 2360!

ahnt says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:05pm

The controls are rather hard to master, but otherwise it is quite funny

Spelchan says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:33am

Once I got the hang of flying the "ship" it was fun. The controls definitely need reworking.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]