December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Interfection

by sPe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There are some in-game instructions.

~~ Basically the goal is ~~
Prevent people from being happy by distracting them with "evil" people beacons. But leave them uncertain and insecure, don't make them too sad. When the overall "mood" of the people is in this "uncertain middle area" your evil power will raise. Win the level by filling your power bar. Lose the game by losing all your power.

Unfortunately, even after hours of trying and testing, balancing is still quite off.
Sorry, no non-Windows version for now as there are some "interesting" problems with MyGUI.

Gameplay video: http://youtu.be/s6cn6a5i28c

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#135Innovation3.42
#169Audio3.00
#293Mood2.92
#538Theme2.81
#571Graphics2.37
#598Humor1.88
#600Overall2.56
#670Fun2.08

Comments

suve says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:02pm

Interesting idea. The balance is quite off, to it takes time to get some results. Overall, nice entry.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:06pm

Interesting idea, but yup, the balance is leaning too far to "ehhh!!"

Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:44pm

music makes this nice. Is there no way to remove a dot? ar r r g. if not, then you hvae to have it perfect. made it to wave 4 in 4:02 minutes.

sPe says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:46pm

yep, intentionally no way to remove dots. Mistakes can only be fixed by placing dots with different numbers (1-0) to push or pull "people". However it's quite difficult to distinguish between the different frequencies by looking at the pulsating waves.

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:29pm

Very interesting and different idea, but it felt a bit hard to play.

I passed the first level by "pushing" people away when they got stuck near my beacons, and then making them sad again (so evil!), which replenished my power bar.

On level two, though, this trick didn't work. I was "teasing" two of the white dots, by my evil bar kept falling.

If you can balance the game a bit more, this looks like an awesome entry in the making!

Thanks for the game!

krutech says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:06pm

The mood is there but i simply dont get it =(

galman says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:55pm

Really nice idea, I really liked the mood of the game :) But it was a bit too hard I think

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Quite a weird game. Neat idea, but I can't really get it to go anywhere.

ceronman says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:47pm

Very interesting and innovative game! This is really evil!

Norgg says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:08am

Interesting, there's a lot of depth here and the soundscape is nice, only got to level 2 just now but will be giving it another go.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:07pm

One of the games on the weid side. The problem s, as yo already know, with balancing.

jmaasing says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Sorry, I can't rate since I don't have windows.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:39pm

Music is nice, but I got a little confused when one dot stopped moving entirely when it turned black, and yet the other kept moving away from my beacons.

jfroco says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:36am

Interesting, but a little too hard. Liked the music.

Rialgar says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:13pm

great idea, but very difficult to play.

the difference between people and beacons is very small, maybe make beacons circles, or a different color.

I had no idea which range of mood is the "uncertain" one, so I could not aim for it well, maybe mark the optimum with a line in the graphic.

Just a story idea: let the "evil beacons" be propaganda speakers - "make people follow your evil scheme but don't become to obvious"

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]