December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Angry Purple Monster

by ramoncb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Help the angry purple monster escape the army!

Controls:
ctrl -> shoot
arrow keys -> moviment

Game made with the Blender Game Engine using only logic Bricks!

3D graphics and logic bricks: Blender
2D graphics: Gimp
Sounds: sfxr
Music: Otomata (Music Gerenator) and edited with Reaper

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#174Graphics3.48
#354Audio2.45
#555Overall2.65
#588Theme2.65
#605Mood2.29
#644Fun2.17
#661Humor1.64
#742Innovation1.77
#776Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:24am

Nice work on the graphics!

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:46pm

Unfortunately I can't run this game fast enough on this computer to play it correctly. I'm going to look forward to playing this on a different computer when I get the chance.

Tyren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Lovely graphics! It would have been nice to have a score or something to compare runs.

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:16pm

Cool 3d models and animations! The gameplay is fun enough (although not really polished). With your skills you could have interpreted the theme in a more original way though :)

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:47pm

Hehe, the Otomata generated music is noticeable, but has the right kind of mood.

The game itself just feels slow. Enemies spawn at a decent rate, but it is a repetitive oncoming wave of the same thing. I wish there was more going on, so please do keep working on the game! Put in some special area attacks (like a giant fire blast) or some more quicker but less effective enemies or some score counter.. something. It has potential, and you need to realize it :D

Tifu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:55pm

Love the monster and graphics in general :D A score would have been nice.

DragonKN says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:31pm

Nice job, but i think that the game play is not so innovative.

ps: nice graphics!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:56pm

Good game!
A particles effects really made a miss, I hope that BGE improves.

awppy says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:16am

Made with Blender? Kudos, I have a hard enough time figuring out how to map textures with it, let alone code something!

I'm not really sure, but I feel as though you may have spent too much time on the graphics and not enough on the gameplay. It takes too long for the game to become interesting, and it also becomes overwhelming pretty quickly.

ceronman says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:46am

Awesome graphics. I loved the animation of the dragon, I missed some game mechanics, a score or something more. Nice work! Thanks for participating.

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:42am

I'd like to know how you got a binary out of BGE- what sort of black magic trickery did you use to get it to work? lol

caranha says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:27am

Good work on the graphics. The animation of the monster was really smooth and realistic. The Otomata made music was the right choice for the mood.

I think it would be nice if the score was in the play area, so that the player knows how close he is to beating his previous score.

Some sort of feedback when the monster gets hurt would help a lot - I didn't realize that touching the planes caused damage until I noticed my health bar had mysteriously been reduced. Or maybe make the health bar more noticeable?

Thanks for the game!

Eniko says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:04am

Great graphics, and pretty long. Is there an end state or does it keep going forever? A score would've been nice.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:29pm

Not very innovative, but the really solid entry made up for that.

Freakill says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:45am

Really neat graphics and good sound! Liked the music, slow paced but intriguing. The game though seems a little bit slow and, at least in my computer, life meter seemed to work randomly :( Really nice art job!

ramoncb says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 5:57pm

thanks for all the feedback! =)

- JoeCool17, it's simple:

first: file > user preferences > addons > game engine > save as game engine runtime
second: file > export > save as game engine runtime

;-)

- Eniko, the game have a boss at the end! xD

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]