December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A Peril of Pauline's

by Red Mike - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Written in C++ using the SFML library, in Visual Studio 2010. The provided source package contains the VS2010 project file.

Inspired by old computer games, and a series of even older silent films.

Comment and criticisms appreciated.

Gluten-free!

UPDATE: Changed download link. Project itself is no different, but added a folder inside of the archive so extracting directly works properly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#97Theme3.82
#199Innovation3.22
#282Humor2.76
#393Fun2.79
#453Overall2.82
#501Graphics2.59
#517Mood2.50

Comments

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:15am

Clever puzzle concept, could use some audio though.

Razion says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:19am

Clever use of theme!

celeron55 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:20am

Does not seem to work (W7/64) - the taskbar icon comes up, but nothing else happens, no window is seen and it has to be killed in task manager.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:26am

puzzle is nice, but seemed a bit buggy? I didn't try out the harder one, but one of the simple one's trigger can pull you back and make the train go opposite direction, even if I actually turned to the right direction.

Red Mike says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:26am

The game was developed on W7/64, so that's really odd. I'll get a second computer and fire it up on a clean install and see if it works, or if I can get it to work.

Sam Driver says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:32am

A very neat game. Something it took me embarrassingly long to work out is how the signals actually function, so for future players:
Red means the train goes straight on, blue means it turns. If the train is coming at the junction from the correct direction, of course.

munchor says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:16pm

C++ and SFML are cross-platform, I'll try to make a GNU/Linux binary. Providing cross-platform binaries is very good...

Red Mike says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:30pm

Sadly, I don't currently have access to any means of compiling a Linux binary. Any help is appreciated!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:32pm

Indeed this was clever

Red Mike says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:58pm

Received a comment off-site telling me that it runs with no issues using wine.

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:31pm

Hmm, game started but whenever i clicked on an intersection it wouldn't change, the color only changed

someone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:41pm

Neat idea. Runs fine in Wine.

TheCze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:46pm

Very nice theme, the enemy was a bit too tough imo.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:33pm

Im gluten intolerant so this is fine for consumption :)

galman says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:16pm

Really clever idea! Took me some time to understand how the game works, but finally I managed to win :D

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:22am

One thing that irked me is that the train would instantly flip 180° and go back where it just came from if I flipped an exit just before it went through. Essentially meaning every time it was about to kill the girl it instead went the wrong way.

It was a decent idea though. Fit the theme well.

ceronman says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:07pm

Nice use of the them. Also, it's good to see a puzzle game. The ability of the hero to turn the train 180° is a bit frustrating though.

jfroco says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Sorry, it doesn't work in my Win7/64bit. Tried compatibility mode, but it doesn't work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]