December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Villainous

by JPatrick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made in just under 2 days, as I have school tomorrow so need to go to bed. Villainous is about killing as many people as you can in the allowed time. The soldiers and archers will fight back though, so be careful! You can buy weapons and health potions in the shop for money gained by killing people. Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#247Fun3.08
#436Theme3.05
#468Audio2.09
#496Humor2.15
#511Overall2.73
#558Graphics2.41
#624Mood2.26
#637Innovation2.26

Comments

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:02am

Nice.

drizzlybear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:16am

Couldn't run the Mac executable. Had trouble navigating the main menu (because I didn't know what the controls were yet). I bought the firebombs and could hold down the mouse and spam them all over everything-- I'm pretty sure that is not the way you wanted it to work, but it was quite fun! :)
Was difficult to see the bullets that the enemies were throwing at me.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:16am

You should make some effort making it easy to start it, I had to make a batch file with my Java installation to start it.

Anyway, having played your game once:
- I liked the particle-numbers to show damage and money
- I didn't like that I couldn't see whether I was attacking if I wasn't hitting anything; some kind of effect or a sticking sword would've been nice.
- Your bow seemed to be bugged - I appearantly shot myself to death.
- Your graphics are adequate, nothing special but they serve their perpose.

I definetly see potential in the concept, but I think a bit more polish would be in order. Keep going!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:46am

Can't run it on my Mac (OSX Lion). I double click the file, it tries to open, but no window appears.

Sylence says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:47am

Very nice :)

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:03am

If not for the many bugs it would have been okay... But your Throwing Star and Bow are bugged (the projectiles also hit the player) and there are a few rendering bugs that will sometimes slighty change the player's position. Need a bit more polish!

Ragepyro says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:48am

I had some issues with the bow and the throwing stars, where they were doing damage to me as I fired them. Dashing around with the firebomb was pretty amusing though :D

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:48am

I ran it on windows. I though the sound design was engaging and added a nice touch. What i liked most about this was it was simple but fun. The particle system also was neat.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:52am

Trying to run the mac version throws up an UnsupportedClassVersionError...

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:58am

I thought this game was really fun and enjoyable and had enough content to keep you coming back after each 5 minutes because you wanted to see what each thing was. The sounds and particle system were cool aswell. However you could have improved the artwork.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:32pm

Sorry couldn't run it. Jar opened, then Java crashed. If you can make it easier to open, I'll give it a shot.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Couldn't run the mac executable...

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:33pm

I like the shop and the bullet hell style you went for

naxum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:34pm

Pretty fun! But man those firebombs are pretty OP. Also, you should explain somehow that you need to click people to swing your sword on them. Great work :)

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:36pm

Needs Java 7, won't run on mac without it

strong99 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:38pm

I feel as a real villain! Muwahaha, killed myself with the arrow :( I liked how you can drive them all in the corner and then kill them with a firebomb :D Like a flock of sheep. Nice concept :) I could just run the JAR without issues not like Gemberkoekje says. (Windows)

stigmawall says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:14pm

5...5 everywhere. Heheheh
The menu navigation has a "extra option" hide somewhere. They exit the game as well. Don't like the camera, they have some glitch when you colide with other character, but its a good game when you learn how to kill.

Nanolotl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:31am

Using the sword was reasonably fun, but the throwing stars and bow just seemed to kill me and no one else.

23 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:20pm

That was cool - thanks for making a Linux version!

If I were to make some small improvements, I'd make the arrow keys work and make sword attacks automatic, but that's about it.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:01pm

Pretty cool, I really liked the sound effects and text!

JPatrick says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:38pm

Thanks for all the feedback guys :D Ive updated it with the bugfixes for arrows and throwing stars, and it should work on mac now, as its compiled against 1.6, sorry about that!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:21pm

Couldn't get it to work. Windows XP

JPatrick says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:26pm

Did you get any sort of error? if you run it from the command line (java -jar villainous_windows.jar)

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:15am

works fine win 7 64bit. Unfortunately, would have loved to send you a stacktrace ;)
Liked the game. There is some glitch with the bow that would make the projectiles stick to the main character instead of flying around. I also think the firebomb is far too powerful in relation to the other weapons. It has a flow to it though :) Scored ~7000 points.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:47am

Working now, lots of fun.
Had some trouble at the main menu, didn't realize that it was WASD there as well. If you could map to both that and arrow keys, might be a bit more helpful.
Had tonnes of fun when I got the firebomb!

ceronman says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:56pm

Nice game. The contrast of the background hurts my eyes, but I had fun playing it.

GameRespect says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:27am

Needs a little more polish, but nice effort!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]