December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Werewolf!

by Dohan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the werewolf in town, but your neighbours don't know it yet.

During the day you must hide the evidences (change clothes, wash blood, remove claw markings in houses).

When the night comes, you must eat a human.

-You win if you kill all the villagers.
-You lose if a villager is 100% sure you are the werewolf.
-How to play:
-Arrow keys to move, space to interact.
-You can change clothes in houses (interact with the door).
-You remove blood and claw markings by interactuacting with them when you are over it during the day.
-You eat villagers by interactuacting with them during the night.

-------------

48 hour compo entry: The game was rushed and I've been unable to test it. Also, there are some features unavailable, as wash the blood from yourself or day and night light cycle...

-------------

12/17/2012 update: Today I finally tested the game and found that the villagers never went right! That was because the Random.Range(int, int) last argument is exclusive. I also found why you couldn't wash the blood from yourself or why day and night look didn't change at all: the problem was fast copy&paste to meet the deadline so I forget to change some variables, shame on me >_<

There is a villager whose walking up animation doesn't work right. I'll look into it...

I added a version with the bug fixes that isn't still my initial idea but it's closer than the compo entry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#202Theme3.57
#329Graphics3.03
#405Innovation2.76
#542Overall2.68
#545Mood2.44
#607Humor1.85
#613Audio1.16
#638Fun2.19

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:50pm

Pretty cool idea, I like the day/night change mechanic. Town design was nice too. Also, goat spotted!

Pent says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:31pm

Goat on roof :)

Spelchan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:48am

Good idea. Game screen was too big to fit in my browser window. If there was some control showing the day/night cycle shifting I couldn't see it but if there wasn't might be a good idea to add one if you continue on this project.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:49am

Pressing A changes your form so the game is made incredibly easy.Also I walked around with blood on me and no one cared. Really is an interesting concept and reminds me of the card game Werewolf yet in game form.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:49am

Nice idea about running around town as a werewolf. Needs more fleshing out to feel like a game.

ElScootro says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:54am

tried to play, but crashed when night hit.

really cool concept!

Dohan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:17am

Thank you for your feedback!

Spelchan: I made the game with a fixed resolution of 1024x768 without thinking on people with lesser resolutions, sorry about that :( Also, there is a timer in the version I made out of time, and day and night looks a bit different.

TwilightFlandre: that A changes you to werewolf was for testing purposes but I forgot to remove it from the compo version >_< And the villagers care about the blood and ragged clothes but (for now) its only noticeable if a villager suspicion level reachs 100% and you lose the game. If I continue working on this game, the idea is that an exclamation mark will appear over the villagers rising their suspicion and pausing the game you will be able to see each villager suspicion level. And yes, the card game has something to do with the idea :)

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:11pm

played the compo version. nice concept so far. The map feels a bit empty and it would be better if there is some kind of battle going on between the villager and the werewolf. The walking animations of your sprites are great :D

hadesfury says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:17pm

Nice. Reminded me of the card game Werewolves of Miller's Hollow. This would be awesome as an asynchronous multiplayer.

I thought the timer on the top of the screen worked weird at first, but it was just that the 1 looks a lot like a 7 ;) !

pnkthrepwood says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:31pm

Cool graphics, but the gameplay is a bit slow!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:32pm

Good idea that clearly needs a couple of days more work to really feel right. Feels like a prototype but at least one that hints at something good. Good programmer art as well. Continue with this and make it into a full game!

bach says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:27pm

Neat idea - I agree though that it needed a bit more work to fully show it's potential. There doesn't seem to be any visual feedback to me making mistakes/doing the right thing. Keep it up! :)

pillbrain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:58pm

I really like it, looks very nice, the idea is pretty sweet, I think I controlled the warewolf change rather than time though? Which made the game feel a lot easier without the risk of random change, would also have been amazing if you had an NPC warewolf hunter chasing you or something to add some threat. Good game though, enjoyed it, those are just idle thoughts to make it harder :)

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:36am

This is very cute and well executed. I applaud you!

Freakill says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:37pm

I like the idea behind the game and graphics are cool, but I never managed to clean my clothes, may be some error? Despite of that, liked the idea of having two play mechanics, one killing, the other cleaning the clues :) Also some devil goats at night spotted hehehehe. I think this game with some more work could be cool :D

Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:16am

Great mechanic -- couldn't figure out how to play exactly, but got the just of eating them and getting caught.

donmilham says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:12am

Neat graphics. I tried both the compo version and the bug fix version. I didn't notice any sfx/music. Good concept.

Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Fun idea! It would be great if the night-change would also be visible. Still, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]