About | Rules and Guide
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 14 hours, 27 minutes, 27 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 14 hours, 39 minutes, 27 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 15 hours, 27 minutes, 27 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    End Boss - Ditto - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Written in C# with XNA

    Aren't bullet hell bosses the coolest thing ever!? Well why can't you ever PLAY ONE!? NOW YOU CAN! OMG!

    Play as a spidery big End Boss and squish that pesky little player ship!


    Do you have an Xbox-controller hooked up to your computer? GREAT, PLAY WITH IT! Otherwise keyboard is also fine.
    (Controls on gamepad is: left thumbstick to move. X, A, B to shoot and Y to defend.)


    Bro tip: Don't let the player get power-ups!

    Also, fuck, totally missed out on the goat thing.. :c

    View Ditto's journal. | View all entries by Ditto

    Ratings

    Theme4.55
    Coolness56%
    Overall4.17
    #12Graphics4.41
    #16Innovation4.10
    #16Fun3.90
    #18Mood3.92
    #28Audio3.68
    #315Humor2.68

    Comments

    ilo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:23am

    A very solid effort, Ditto. It was harder than I imagined too - I felt slow and very exposed!

    tumoxep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:47am

    Five's in all fields

    drizzlybear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:52am

    Awesome Idea-- I had a lot of ideas about reversing game-mechanics to be from the villain's frame, but this one hadn't crossed my mind. Sweet! :)

    Gemberkoekje says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:54am

    Unfortunately this crashed on my work computer; right at the beginning ~ I'll put this on a list to try at home~!

    CMaster says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:54am

    Nice work, although I couldn't work out which 360 button for the aiming attack.

    Ditto says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:59am

    The aiming attack actually autoaims at the "player ship"! Thanks for the nice comments! :D

    Agamgad says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24pm

    Really Really challenging ! btw I love the inertia of its mandibules and its evil look !

    Msquirrel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:25pm

    Woah, that was really difficult, but a great idea and really well done!

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    Fantastic presentation & really well polished, it would have been easy to miss the subtlety of the boss's movement or the players avoidance, but you nailed it!

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:46pm

    Best game I have played so far this LD! Very very fun, thanks!

    TheH says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:47pm

    Great concept, I love how you feel sluggish and like you can't really hit what you want to hit. AI behind the "hero" ship is pretty good as well, it's a lot harder to hit that little guy than you might think. ((makes me wish I was that good at dodging bullets in bullet nightmares haha))

    tomvert says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:53pm

    Great, the defense move is very cool. Great animation too.

    FrozenCow says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:02pm

    Once you know how to play it is very doable. The problem is that the 'hero' gets stronger as time goes on. I didn't know how everything worked and the hero was already pumped before I could do anything about it.
    Second try was much easier though. *Very* enjoyable!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:15am

    Huh a bullet hell game that is difficult from the boss's point of view as well. The graphics look great by the way and the actual gameplay is super fun!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:15am

    This is a really neat concept. The graphics were great too, and I especially like the feel of the weight of moving the big boss around. Great job!

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:59pm

    Cool! Nice twist of the standard game :)

    Aslai says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:58am

    The graphics were fantastic, and the game is pretty fun. However, if you can position one of your two omnidirectional shooters over the player, you can instagib him >:3
    It's a little OP. Just a little.

    Cyboot says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:53am

    I remembered your last entry so I thought lets try this one too.
    And I can say, it was worth it!
    Graphics, Sound, Idea and Gameplay a really great. And - its hard to describe it - it feels so complete, not like it was developped in hurry of 48 hours.

    So very great Job. You can be proud! Thanks for making this game :)

    EdoMiyamoto says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:47pm

    It's a really good game !

    Rialgar says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:30am

    Great Game, could not stop trying till I won. I especially like how you need to protect the inner parts of your ship, because loosing them means loosing everything attached to them, too.
    To my mind, the boss could use a little more color, though.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:57pm

    Excellent art and implementation of this idea. The sluggishness of a mega-boss really is clearly conveyed. The player AI is rather basic but it's hard enough already. Damn players!

    StMatn says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 2:01am

    Awesome game! The graphics were pretty, sound was nice, but the player was too good at dodging bullets :P Very good game

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]