December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Fagin

by mutuware - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Erm, more of a prototype than a game... ran out of time.

Probably not that obvious what you do.
You can hide in the gaps between buildings. (Use up arrow)
Then steal from gentleman (hold the down arrow), but don't do it too long or they will notice! Try and find the sweet spot (orange bar).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#362Theme3.22
#471Humor2.21
#545Audio1.62
#620Innovation2.31
#654Mood2.16
#670Coolness49%
#710Graphics1.88
#734Fun1.81
#748Overall2.04

Comments

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:20pm

Could be that HTML5 still does weird things on certain browsers but... I'm not sure what's happening in here :D I had fun lurking in the shadows, though.

mutuware says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:36pm

I've noticed some scaling weirdness (big pink rectangles!), best to hit F11 and run full screen.

Manest says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:42pm

My browser(ff) crash :)

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:55pm

Nice prototype

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:56pm

Awesome splash screen but indeed not yet much of a game. Interesting idea though.

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:58pm

No idea how to play - if I move to shadows i cannot get back or do anything :(

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:05pm

A nice idea - took me a while to work out I was supposed to follow the men in order to pick their pockets long enough to get money though. Then I got trapped and then stuck in the building because I faded somewhere there wasn't an alley way :)

caranha says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:54am

Hmmm, Interesting concept, but the execution needs work. Some ways to improve the game:

- the difference between the gentlemen and the cops need to be clearer. It took me three or four tries until I understood why I was dying all the time.

- You don't ever need to leave your hiding role, since pick-pocket works from hiding. Just hide and hold the "down" key.

- Sometimes, if you alert the guards while hidding, they will spaz all over the screen and begin moonwalking! O.o?

- It would be interesting to have some sort of limit (time?) to avoid the "I can hide and steal at the same time, neener neener" thing.

Thanks for the game!

delpes says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:31pm

I just hide all the time and stole from the gentlemen while they where passing. Seemed to trigger some bugs tough. But nice idea/concept :)

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:37pm

Also got the pink glitch, but hitting F11 fixed it.

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:41pm

cool fading mechanic, seems unique :)

TheMelon says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:23am

+Pilfer the gentlemen!
+Moonwalking police

Nice idea, needs a little more work to really sell the mechanic, but the idea is there!

Hatscat says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:21am

Very interesting idea

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]