Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

ETGA!

by Graf_Grun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

--== EVIL TRUCK GUY ATTACK ==--

Inspired by the heroic Eric "the Bald," 'Evil Truck Guy Attack!' is a game for all ages, races, mermen, and various religious groups!

In ETGA!, You play as 'some guy' who is extraordinarily evil.
He has a goat.
He hates his goat.
So he came up with a diabolical plot to make his goat 'feel bad' as he tramples hundreds of innocent animals and pedestrians with his big red truck.
What Fun!

Controls:
-Click to speed up the dialog.
-Up/Down for position.
-Right (gained after lvl 1) for 'Fast Speed.'
-Space (gained after lvl 2) for Jump.

Bonus Guide:
x1.5 bonus for a Swerve (hitting something on the Side rather than Headon).
x2.0 bonus for a Headon collision while moving at 'Fast Speed.'
x3.0 bonus for a Smash with Jump.

Made with:
-Code::Blocks with SDL/OpenGL and SDL_Mixer
-Aseprite and Paint
-sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#9Humor4.08
#10Fun3.95
#27Theme4.10
#89Overall3.56
#112Graphics3.73
#118Mood3.31
#355Innovation2.90
#385Audio2.35

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:00am

Fun, I liked the art style. Could really use some faster intro dialogue though.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:01am

Incredibly satisfying particle effects for the blood. Also the parallax scrolling was a nice touch. Overall a pretty fun game.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:06am

I found it creepy that there were dead bodies after the finish line in subsequent runs... a killer on the lose other than me? This game needs squishing sound effects when you land on grandmas. Anyways, loved it! :D

Graf_Grun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:13am

I'm so sorry, sfxr doesn't do squish... I definitely needs that though, along with a good soundtrack.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12am

Great game which I really enjoyed. The criticism I had was noted by "God" so you are already aware of the pedestrians on highway problem already.

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:13am

aHAHAHAAAA !!!11! This puts me in a frenzy (shaking head and wobbling tounge around)
You should get extra extra points for driving fast and smashing or fast and serving ;-)
I likes!

celeron55 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:15am

On this computer, F-Secure thinks this is "potentially harmful". It does run when you allow it to, though.

My game happens to be a variation of quite the same theme - I just didn't even bother to put in a score system but rather focused on the feel of driving. 8)

apophenia says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:21am

Dear God, what did I just play? ;P

TheCze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:52pm

Nice game, liked the blood :D

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:14pm

I liked the story for once i was reading !

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Great. But it doesn't seem to end. Love that carmageddon meats evoland feeling. Could have been a killer :)

Razion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:32am

Plays smoothly! Enjoyable. Well done. That creepy, creepy goat...

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:44am

never has it been so fun to make goats upset

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:03pm

Hilarious game especially with the blood particles. Adding a couple more point parameters could benefit the game though.

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:12am

Very much enjoyed it, though I was a little sad when multipliers didn't stack.

GameRespect says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:17am

I'm a little hesitant to admit, but I love this game. The aesthetic is awesome, gameplay is simple, yet it feels rewarding. I'm not sure if this in fact makes me evil though. PS: Love the goat.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:20am

"VILLIANOUS" typo /facepalm xD

Also, I love the fact that because of the head-on view of the road and pedestrians combined with a three-quarters view of the truck makes for acceleration and deceleration when switching lanes because of the diagonal motion. An interesting choice.

As far as the game itself goes, it was really fun to squash, crush, crunch, and splatter all the silly creatures walking across the road. They're crazy if they thing I'll avoid them!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:19am

It's always fun to run stuff over. It's probably the main reason cars where invented. Too bad the game doesn't feel like it has an ending despite such a promising beginning.
Suggested plot twist : in level 4 the goat starts driving the truck and the human can't bear to watch !

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:46pm

love it! art style, paralax scrolling, goat inclusion, top, top job :)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:53pm

Fun game. I wish there was some kind of penalty.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:39pm

Crap, on XP in VMWare the ganme runs very slowly and then locks up right before the baby carriage. No problems with any other game so far, odd. Oh well.

Grouflon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Nice storytelling ^^ it may lacks some motivating music

pereubu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:34pm

One of the best game i've played so far, extremely addictive, i really liked it, i don't know if a soundtrack should have been necessary, but still, great job !

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:38pm

Fun game, the sound effects could be better, and the story is unfinished.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:59pm

Needs hilarious audio to really make it special. Hilarious concept and theme interpretation. But I gotta wonder.... where's the goddamn four lane highway cutting through a forest that's full of old ladies, little school girls, and ABANDONED BABY STROLLERS all moving in the same direction????!!!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]