December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Earth Destroyer

by shatterhand - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an alien force invading Earth with only one objective: Destroy everyhing on the planet.

The Earthlings won't give up easily, and will throw everything they have against you to defend planet Earth!

Control your UFO with Arrows, shoot with WASD keys .

Destroy all the buildings to go to the next level. When time runs out, its game over.

Go back to your mothership to recharge your energy.

Press F to turn on/off SFX, press M to turn on/off Music (It only works in-game)

-
Coding, Graphics, Music, SFX and Design made by Rafael Lima (AKA Shatterhand)

Game made with GameMaker Studio (Source included)
Music and SFX made with EJAY, BFXR and Audacity
Graphics made with GameMaker built-in Graphics Editor, GIMP and Paint.


I had thought about adding a bonus round where you had to capture goats, but couldn't come up with a good gameplay idea for it. I kinda liked the Bonus Round that it's in the game anyway :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#108Fun3.42
#144Audio3.10
#200Overall3.29
#300Theme3.35
#350Mood2.79
#415Graphics2.81
#508Innovation2.55
#541Humor2.04

Comments

fakeshadows says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12am

Really good fun and well put together, kudos!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:47am

It would have more longevity if the destruction wasn't so obviously constrained to a grid. I'd love to destroy the houses with some kind of beam that carves out pixels.

Oh, and the music fits this perfectly.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:51am

Can't play windows games. Too bad cause this looks fun.

shatterhand says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:55am

Rex Peppers, I'll be able to port this to HTML5 in the future, but I don't think it will be in the next 2 weeks :(

If I do, I'll let you know, I'll leave a message in your own game page if you wish so :)

Skyshifter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:16am

Very fun but what does the bonus level do?

shatterhand says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:21am

Just shoot the "mines" quickly enough before they hit you. They get faster as you progress in the level, and if you manage to destroy them all, you get a 5000 bonus points added to your score.

You can only shot once, and will only be able to shoot again if your shot actually hits a mine. If you miss a shot, you're dead :)

Skyshifter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:51am

Tnx but i keep missing =__=
I use Famitracker for the audio of my game, really hard to use until you get the hang of it

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44pm

Old style !

lando walters says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:28pm

I enjoyed it, but I would have liked a little more dynamic movement using the GM:S physics engine. The audio was also quite good. I wish that the gameplay was a little more varied though, because it did get a little boring after you played through a few levels. overall, solid entry.

shatterhand says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:49pm

I haven't even tried the GM:S Physics engine yet. I am using GM:S like it is GM8 :D

Nik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:37pm

Nice one, worked very well and went with the theme nicely too.

bushmango says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:10am

Cool! Wish it was a bit more like Rampage where you just destroyed a building x% and it fell down from structural damage.

csanyk says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:21am

Solid gameplay. Controls could use a little smoothing/loosening up to give it a more UFO-y feel.

shatterhand says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:51pm

I dunno, I think when you have to control something that's being shot at constantly, the player will prefer to have precise controls.

Usually no one likes shmups with inertia, and that's for a reason.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:33pm

Great job on the game, i like the idea!!!! :D VERY FUN TOO! :D

ceronman says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:42pm

I had fun playing this. It's a great game and completely finished. I liked it.

Freakill says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:35am

Cool entry! I really liked the music, addictive and the gameplay is good, but maybe a little bit hard learning curve :P From stage 3 it gets much more difficult to reach the lower part given the amount of tanks! I liked it a lot, office hours killer! :P

Neonlare says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 12:53am

Pretty fun and simple, reminds me of some of the older arcade games like Defender.

chocobyte says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Great game!

Cambrian_Man says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 5:29am

Fun and simple arcade action. I like it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]