December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Man Who Throws The Tetris Piece

by madameberry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I wasn't terribly excited for the theme when it was announced, but I ended up having fun.

Controls are mouse and arrow keys. I actually kind of added instructions this time around!

The game has two modes: Singleplayer and Multiplayer.
I will suggest that you grab a friend and play Multiplayer if you can; the AI in Singleplayer mode is pretty terrible.

Based off this song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ApbvchiEdTY

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Theme3.79
#114Innovation3.50
#146Mood3.23
#150Humor3.17
#200Overall3.29
#223Fun3.14
#265Audio2.71
#283Graphics3.14
#1027Coolness24%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57am

Never thought I'd see the day when *I* could be the ******** (insert word of choice here) who doesn't give you a vertical piece!

Arakade says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:00am

Cute :-) Like you said, I bet it's better 2 player!

Zillix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01am

really awesome. didn't have anyone to play with, but I gave multiplayer a shot on my own anyway. great job!

cdata says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:35am

That's hilarious. I love being the person who ruins someone else's Tetris game for a change :)

dek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:40pm

I liked the graphics and sound! Really nice. A take on the mayans and the end of the world? The only problem was the AI. It looks like he wanted to lose. Maybe he has already given up because of all the people trying to ruin his day! :D

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:27am

Strangely enough, it was only when I threw in a straight piece that the AI started screwing up...

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:28am

Nicely executed!

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:30am

I crashed Opera but worked fine on Firefox, I do love messing people up at Tetris...

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:27pm

Cool idea and execution. Tetris never gets old. :)

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:45am

The goals for the different players didn't seem clear enough.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]