December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Aliens and the End of the World

by D3zmodos - Jam Entry

Pity the theme wasn't actually "The End of the World" but at least you get to be the villain trying to bring that about.

I kinda only half-finished this, because I got most of the way through and then got really over trying to balance the numbers, so I didn't get round to adding any sound (fail) and more visual effects. =/

Anyways you have abilities that you can use to give yourself extra income (which you get at the beginning of every turn), or reduce the stats of the enemy humans (the numbers along the top) which in turn makes your abilities more effective (the lower those numbers are).

Basically you win if you can successfully use either of the abilities that cost 200, and you lose if all of the human stats grow over 100. I realise this game is probably pretty confusing because of how numbers-based it is...oh well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#147Innovation(Jam)2.94
#174Humor(Jam)2.53
#206Theme(Jam)3.06
#242Mood(Jam)2.50
#268Fun(Jam)2.29
#289Graphics(Jam)2.29
#293Overall(Jam)2.39
#912Coolness35%

Comments

NuSan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:12am

Cool entry, i like the turn based system and the message after each action. But human seem not growing and they do nothing every turn, so it's realy easy. And i miss a big explosion at the end ^^

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:10pm

Nice RPG feel to the game I enjoyed this :3

D3zmodos says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:32am

@NuSan ye I wanted to make the humans really interact with what you did (IE if a UFO got shot down then they got extra research or something).

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:36pm

Meteor to the face! Take that humans! Hahaha.

With some kind of retaliation features and some more actions this could be a really fun game. The best part is that the feel hasn't been decided yet, it could be a funny game or a serious game and would work out really well either way.

Please do keep going with this! :Db

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:41pm

Not loading on Firefox 17.0.1 :-(

pighead10 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:38pm

Nice idea. The humans did nothing on each go (bug or incomplete?) but I liked the way the game worked. I thought about each decision and appeared to pick the best one each time, which was satisfying, although I'm not sure much skill it was compared to the game just being easy.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:44pm

Was very easy to win. I'm curious why you chose Unity for this, seems like it could have slowed you down (I haven't used Unity much but it seems like overkill for a game like this).

Hatscat says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:25pm

interesting idea

Udrian says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:51am

Neat idea! It was very easy how ever, also -1 for forgetting to draw Scandinavia on the world map ;)

Jan 1, 2013 @ 4:10am

Fun game, but the humans always "do nothing"

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]