Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Villain OS 8

by tommycreo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One typical day right from the eyes of the villain: pet your cat, destroy the Earth, and laugh like a true evil genius.

Control: Mouse

Your doomsday weapon is powered by your evil laugh, charge it before firing.

Unfortunately did not have time to make music, only some sounds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#4Theme4.47
#20Humor3.89
#32Innovation3.96
#36Mood3.75
#69Overall3.63
#85Graphics3.86
#114Audio3.24
#210Fun3.16

Comments

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:00am

I love the Cat! Cool Game!

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18am

That's one powerful cat! This game made me LOL. Good job.

misson20000 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:25am

Love the evil laugh =]

epiplon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:03am

A true villain!

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:25am

That's one powerful cat!
Pro: Lots of fun! I like the controls.
Con: Too short - i want more fun. Also took a while to find and click the first button i needed to push.

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:26am

This is a really innovative, funny, quirky game! Exactly what I love about Ludum Dare!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:33am

Fantastic! Love the evil laugh from petting the cat game mechanic!

netgrind says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:33am

Loved the cat. Just sat there petting it for ages.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:36am

Nice :). I like the cat and interface.

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:42am

A nice idea for the interface, but controlling it wasn't the most comfortable thing.

Arakade says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:46am

Nice!

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:50am

Love the art and the fact that you're basically destroying the world through patting a cat, could use a bit more length though.

lando walters says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:50am

hey, I liked your game. It was short, but funny. Sound would have been nice, but I cant really say much as my game diddnt have music either. I would have liked more content though. For what it is, its well done, but I think that it might have been better suited as a fast paced mini game inside another game.

tommycreo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:53am

Thanks a lot for your comments, guys!

Datw says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55am

This game is really neat and has a good premise, but the controls are just unreliable.

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01am

At first I thought the sound was the cat purring lol.
pretty good overall, would have been more challenging if the satellites didn't have a constant orbit.

caasi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24am

Muhahahahahaha...!
Love the cat!

Manuel777 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:30am

Great game, I would have loved to see more of this, and maybe keyboard controls, but great anyway :D

monomanio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:58am

That was awesome. The art is nice, and the cat was awesome!

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:22am

Fantastic, charge that kitty up!

Ditto says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:41am

This was cool, especially loved the controls, very good! :D

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:20am

Haha, great artwork. Love the dual-handed petting. The game itself is a bit too easy, though -- would've loved a bit of a challenge. Literal, but clever take on the theme.

uwap says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:43am

Nice game. Good mood and all. But it was a bit short ;)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:00am

Very nice idea, but very short. Still a nice game to play if you don't have a lot of time.

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:24pm

The best use of the theme I've seen so far. So archetypicall :)

I also like how the mouse movement and hand movement worked together.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:55pm

YES! I was waiting for something like this! I loved it!

legomaster181 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:15pm

I'm laughing because I played this with a cat in my lap. :3

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:26pm

Awesome looking game :) Needs to be longer and the big button bigger! Muahaha well done!

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:35pm

MAX HUMOR POINTS

Logun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:39pm

My favorite game right now ! One of the coolest weypon i have ever seen ! + cool cat + cool controls ! great work !

bwdevel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:46pm

OK, this is brilliant.

Xgor says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:02pm

I really like the idea, kinda awkard to play press all the button with the mouse but otherwise it was a great take on the theme.

emveyh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:07pm

That's awesome. I especially liked how you handeld the input :)

sclark39 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:32pm

It is REALLY hard to hit those buttons. I sat at the "press big button to start" screen for way too long trying to press it. I wish it would just do whatever I'm closest to when I click rather than needing to be directly over it. Cool idea, great audio, effective graphics.

Madball says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:40pm

"Press big button to continue" already made me go LOL.
MWHAHAHAHA!

Vennril says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:55pm

Very funny idea. Love the cat and evil laugh :)

Porpentine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:06pm

fun :3

dom2d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:33pm

Very fun, would be fun to do more!

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:04pm

Love it, innovative, well-executed and fun. Aces.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:07pm

I can't seem to click the first button?

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Cool. I get what you were going for here but I lack the patience for the control setup. Very nice aesthetic.

dtConfect says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:52pm

How creative. I loved petting the cat to charge the laser, and I liked how he used two hands to push buttons. Might have been nicer if the buttons for up and down were closer to the ones for left and right though.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:00pm

I found the controls a bit obscure but I like the concept.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:51pm

I realy liked the idea and it was realy fun to play! very nice entry

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Very creative controls and cool implementation of the theme!

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:00pm

Damn, that was awesome! Love the control scheme - it felt very fluid. Sometimes I found it a little difficult to press the buttons, since the finger wasn't quite in the right place. Very easy to get the hang of. Loved it. :)

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:09pm

Nice game - good concept :)

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Cool game! A bit easy though, but still fun

gesangbaer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:28pm

!!! Amazing!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:10pm

Solid idea! Loved that you teach the player how to stroke the cat before starting. Wish you'd put the movement controls on WASD or arrows, then you just manage that and petting the cat and click to fire. Could be a lot of fun with some attack on you and shooting ground targets as well. Lot of fun potential. Really like the universal Bond villain vibe.

raarlac says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:27pm

Pet, kill bitches, pet, kill bitches, pet, loved it.

Sestren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:29pm

Petting the cat while laughing evilly was a nice touch. Great mood and use of the theme!

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:24am

Awesome controls, and very funny game. Made me wish earth was protected by more satelites :P

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:40am

I found myself petting the cat before it told me to. :P

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:48am

I really liked the way I was controlling two hands with one mouse. That worked far more intuitively than I though it possibly could. Nice graphics and sound too!

tcql says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:34am

Wish my cats would charge up evil weapons of mass destruction... Fun game! A little too short though.

I loved the animation/interaction of the hands on the control panel

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:42am

I loved it! The music at the end is perfect!

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:49am

Hell yes! I loved this simple short game. Petting the cat is a great mechanic, and chasing the satellites down this way is a nice little challenge. Full points for mood and graphics!

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:19am

Cute!

OU GDA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:21am

top tier theme and art. control scheme is so meta

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:42am

hilarious

TDRGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:48am

LOL. Minion is our alternate name for our cat Minnie :)

The controls feel like some sort of ill-conceived contraption out of an Austin Powers movie... so not fun it's funny, I guess?

atrodo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:06am

A lot of fun, but the controls to move the aim, made it a little more tedious than I would have liked.

Freakill says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:33am

I think this is right now the game that made me feel the most villian in a classic way :) The game was too short, I just sat petting the cat during some time :P I think you have a really nice interface to develop a little managing game. The virtual interface (aka the hands) move really nicely with mouse movement. Sound and graphics really good. I liked the mix of fast interface like mouse, with a old game boy looking graphics (giving the palete of colours).

har_g says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:45pm

Wo.. gra.. 5star.. if you can saw the smile on my face, i have no word to say that's the best coolest feeling i got in a game.

munchor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:09pm

I love the controls, super-cat!

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:54pm

Awesome idea. I love the cat, I love the stereotype of the evil genius. Incredibly well done!

Fireblend says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:45pm

I think it was actually a good thing the game had no music. Great graphics, really enjoyable even though it's short, and it's incredibly charming. Great job!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:31pm

Muwahaha! Class game, cheers.

Biped says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:16pm

Great idea. Love the cat.

Cryovat says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:14pm

This brought back fond memories of Inspector Gadget. :D

The control scheme didn't work out too well for me (I used a mouse), but I have a feeling it would work much better on a tablet. Especially the cat cuddling ^_^

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:09pm

I liked the monochrome palette and the art. At first though I thought the cat was the guy's hair and we were viewing him from a topdown perspective.

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:03am

really interesting controls, very cool concept.

jerombd says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:34am

Don't know how you could expand the game (maybe with different buttons mapping...).
Anyway, it's fun. Short for sure, but fun!

Keevor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:20am

Love the cat, and the idea altogether.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:58am

Very cool concept and I enjoyed stroking the cat. But I found the controls a bit difficult.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:37am

Bit quirky controls, but the idea and execution was really good! Nice evil laugh and cat petting action. I expected it to be a bit longer though.

nitramgc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:48am

The game is perfect!

It's just hard to understand that the top of your finger must be exactly under a button to be able to press it.
A button won't be pressed if you're not correclty aligned, even if the Villain is playing the "pointing my finger" animation.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:45am

Fun idea, but far too short.

JaJ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:31pm

This is GREAT. Most I-Feel-Like-A-Villain game I've played yet.

tommycreo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:09pm

Hey guys, thanks once again for all your comments.

Original idea was to add few mini-games in Villain OS menu, but it was my first LD and I had big problems with time management (especially on first day), so the game has turned very short and controls are not really perfect.

Don't know when exactly, but there definitely will be post-compo version with bunch of improvements.

ahm99 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:32am

That was short but cool :) good job

Husky says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:44am

Fun!
Charging the weapon is caressing the cat is humor lol.
Good idea to play a villain this way :p

Faust says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:13am

Muhahahahaha, Muhahahahahah, I love the idea, very unique entry.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:28pm

It's good and the cat-pet-laughter-charge mechanism is cool. Wasn't sure if something was happen going to happen at some point to the earth or those satellites.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:27pm

Brilliant idea, I wish the game was bigger :)

vids says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:28pm

Brilliant! Awesome! Want more!

TheSheep says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:06pm

Very annoying controls.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:04pm

A few issues with the controls, but a very nice idea! You can't have a villain without his/her cat. :D

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:22pm

I like the petting the cat aspect, but the controls for the weapon are impossible!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:49pm

Five stars for theme! Not that fun to PLAY, but great concept and who cares anyway: you get to pat a cat and laugh!

berareu says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:08pm

Nice idea, good job!

illugion says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:07am

The cat is really cool LOL XD i liked the game, it was kinda hard to control the aim but all of the enemies just came to the aim real soon so it was nice XD Good job!

Aslai says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:02am

Short and sweet. I love my fluffy little companion!

eraldo says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:15am

I love the idea of cat interaction. :)

dwrensha says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:23am

Good sounds.

Claite says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:02am

Great game! I loved petting the kitty :)

blob says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:57am

Petting cats is so evil.

raincole says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:15am

The dashboard control is innovative, but hard to use...

Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:08pm

Haha brilliant! The "web" link leads me to a download though, the alternative one gives me the online version.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Short and sweet but very nice concept!

Waynetron says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:56pm

Love the interface and the visual style. But definitely needs expanded gameplay.
Here's a tip, embed your swf file into a html page, then you can centre it and have it sit nicely on a dark background.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:32pm

I love the concept! This is easily one of the most unique approaches to the theme I've seen so far. The controls are a little weird and it seemed too easy, but other than that, great work.

Van Merwan says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:57pm

Clicking on buttons is hard but very immersive. :)

GreenPixelDev says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:08pm

Short, with shallow gameplay but you really did set the mood! :D Good take on the theme! Nice job!

killmonday says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:36pm

This was awesome! Win8!

Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:36pm

What a strange game...
The cat and the evil laugh really makes us a villain.
Good job !

Hatscat says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:33am

So funny :D
Great idea and well done, but a little bit too short

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:06pm

Really good !

Jeremias says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:46pm

Short, but nice. I like the way of pushing the buttons (if the hands of the played character follows the cursor).

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Cool concept. Petting the cat was great. Actually taking out the enemy ships was a matter of just waiting for them to cross into the line of fire. A bit more challenge would be awesome.

Eniko says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:39am

I like that you need to pet the cat to laugh maniacally and charge your laser. Though, if the world is destroyed by the laser, wouldn't the villain be destroyed too? (and his cat)

Mesene says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:59pm

Great inmersion! I spend a nice time, thanks :D

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:03pm

LOL - awesome. The ending is so perfect. The laugh, the note that plays... UGH. So good. Great innovation here.

Yakka says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:09am

Short game but excellent direction and idea.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Very hard to control this when using a touchpad, but I like the cat mechanic and the laughter energy :) good thinking!

P.S. Greetings from Omsk Ludum Dare! ;)

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:06pm

Excellent work. A little hard to hit the buttons, but loved the control scheme. At first I didn't realize I needed to hold the mouse down to pet the kitty, so I was just shaking my mouse over the top of him.

vrav says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:39pm

;D

lotusgame says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:04am

Hahaha :) The cat stuff is brilliant ! And the controls very fun, even if i finished to center the target plot in the middle of earth and wait. A game that will turn you into Blofeld (the greatest villain of James Bond) :)

tomc says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:24pm

Controls were very tricky with a laptop touchpad. Art style and sounds were nice and consistent.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:26pm

Muahahahaha

mmorphinee says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:58pm

Really funny and great idea, but too short :)

Oreganik says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:39pm

My first all-five star rating for this LD. Love the controls, the sounds... I mean, come on, blasting a satellite then chuckling evilly while I pet my cat? Awesome!

Houly says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:04am

This looks cool and plays cool. A weird little game. With some actually evil laughing this would have been perfect.
Reminded me of Enviro Bear 2000.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:02pm

Cool game!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:09pm

GREAT JOB SIR!
Reminds me Inspector Gadget ^^
And Enviro-Bear in the Gameplay
It deserves to become a full lenght game (even if it's WAY good enough for 48h)

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:53am

Cute interface! I love the graphics work you did for this. I think keyboard controls could've helped, since I had to snipe the buttons a lot of the times. Great work! :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:50am

So great, excellent take on the theme, if a little short.

bentog says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:41pm

Short, but cool. Really strange thing is that by petting your cat you also laug AND change the weapon! Just like a villain.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 9:41am

A pretty decent and amusing game.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:47pm

good game, keep on the great work]

DTG says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:31am

"Your doomsday weapon is powered by your evil laugh" DONE, theme, fun and humor 5 stars.
The hands following the mouse is neat if a little clunky at times, aiming at the satelite things is just tricky enough to give you something to do while you laugh at how funny the idea is.

GameRespect says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 10:39am

Love the laugh, love the aesthetic, love the concept. The only problem I have with it is it's a little on the short side, but the experience was still awesome.

Mase says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:21am

Nice work on the hands & console. I've thought about that sort of display/interface so it's inspiring to see it done.

Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:12am

This is utterly, ridiculously brilliant. The only thing I can say was less than fun was the positiioning of the buttons and the difficulty of controling the two hands. As a concept, it's really marvelous.

Gornova says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:51pm

ld25 best game so far!! :D

impulse9 says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Too bad it's so short. Lovely concept and wonderful polish.

Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:15am

Best use of cat-petting ever.

DavidErosa says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Loved the idea of petting the cat for empowering the weapon! The aiming controls are a bit unconfortable, but if you manage to get to a certain point, you can just recharge the weapon and fire.

Also, a cool touch would have been a "pressing" animation for the finger. Even a single frame one would have given it a nicer feeling.

Dioiminik says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:57pm

MUHAHAHAHAHA. No seriously a good game. Made my day ;D

leafo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:11am

Haha, this is a cool idea. Too bad it's so short.

Mista Koo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Loved it. Innovative (and great) visuals and badass player character :P

chrismwaite says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Very interesting idea and well executed. I found the controls a little difficult but got there in the end.

SkyPirates says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:45am

Very good! I loved the small touches like the cat, but the controls could have been smoother.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]