December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Nibble

by Biped - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My general idea was to create something different and slightly abstract. The game is a retro throw back, command line type interface with classic green and black screen. Sorry about the bugs, hopefully I'll get a chance to fix anything that causes any problems.

**Press "ENTER" to skip intro text**

Use the WASD keys to control your character. Avoid anything that flickers or moves, see below:

' = bad
| = switch
? = terminal
0 = break these
{{}} = fire

This is my first ludum dare. Hope you enjoy the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#355Innovation2.90
#409Mood2.70
#451Graphics2.74
#461Humor2.24
#531Overall2.70
#570Fun2.38
#604Audio1.20
#649Theme2.44

Comments

L says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:18am

Bug: the font isn't fixed-width in Opera.

Biped says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:38pm

Fixed it :o)

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:42pm

Gosh that took a while until that scrolling text disappeared.Gaaah.. even more text. When does the game begin?
Does this ever end? Gnaaah. Oh finally a game.
Now what do I do? Where is my character? Let's walk around. Oh there, bottom right. Okay, let's go... why is this looking weird? Oh something about fixed width bug.. maybe that's it. I walk up up up, oh that jumped right? Mh weird, okay lets go left.. left oh a diamond? Left up... "Your dead"...
My dead? What? Erm what now? ... no way... i think this means I am dead.
Can I restar? No? Really... again the text? You have got to be kidding me....

Sorry bro, would have liked to give this game a try, but on my chrome on mac it didn't seem to work properly. But the intro was a huge getdown.
Though the whole aspect looks promising. It looks clear and well thought out. Maybe you could fix it somehow and make the intro skippable?

Congratulations on finishing something though. Apparently there are no community points anymore, would have given you extra on that for your awesome food shots =)

RyanArcher says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:43pm

Make the first bit unfixable, spent 2 minutes just reading a wall of text and got bored....

Markavian says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:45pm

No way to skip the intro text... I think I died and restarted... I like the look of it though. Poor Nibbles.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:47pm

Cool Game! Even though I failed on the first level... I had a lot of fun playing it, even though it seems to be so basic. Seriously though, nice usage of javascript! The story bit at the start helped to set the scene for the game (would have liked to be able to skip to the full text as it scrolls fairly slowly but that's a small thing, rekindled some of my passion for the more retro games out there. Thank you very much!

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:01pm

Great style, mood and context, but do I really have to read everything all over again every time I die? Or am I missing something?

gameXcore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:38pm

I died and then didn't appear to respawn :s

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:47pm

not bad. Concept is great, but non-skippable intro and early death followed by having to go through the non-skippable intro is a killer. Great promise though!

Mava says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:35pm

The minimalist art makes it very atmospheric, really nicely executed I enjoyed it :)

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:02pm

I like the graphics. Quite a long intro, though.

fhoenig says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:04pm

Well done for the retro!

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:04pm

I think ~ kill you and you dont respawn.
Control is a bit hard click a lot some keys.

I still liked it :D

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:15pm

Holy wall of text, Batman. I know you tried to set the mood and all, but after a restart or two, the only mood is annoyance. There's also a bug with respawning not working occasionally, despite having lives left.

Biped says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:50pm

Thanks for the comments. Have fixed some of the problems.

pythong says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:23pm

aahhh too much text at the beginning...no skip? ahhh finally, i can do sth...MORE TEXT!??? tl;dr :(

infernet89 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:22pm

Totally need checkpointing for respawn.. But i really liked the retro-style!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:23pm

hehe i thought it was a text adventure but it turned out into an ASCII adventure :P

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:29pm

Cool concept. Controls were interesting, wasn't sure what to do at first.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:53am

This game makes fun but sadly the AI is going to be removed. I lost ;(

Mesene says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:24pm

I died so I checked the code, Im sure I'll learn a lot of it, nice job!

pereubu says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:38pm

Awwww this game is horribly hard and really addictive, there's a great ambiance too thanks to the colors i suppose (+ i was listenning to some repetitive electro so it got even cooler ). Great and original job D:

Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:55pm

Nice retro style. Sometimes it was unclear what I had to do, but I figured it out eventually, and then it was quite fun. I didn't like that I had to wait so long till a level was filled with #'s once you finished it.

StMatn says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:19am

The style is really cool and fits perfectly with the story. Skipable intro would have been nice. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]