Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Riot! - fhoenig - Jam Entry

Riot is an exploration of the interaction between police and protesters.

As a thug cop, you use escalating violence to incite a riot. The cops will take care of the rest.
Should you fail, the protest will be dispersed peacefully, and no one wins.


Controls:

Use W,A,S,D or Cursor keys to move
Use Mouse to rotate

Item selection:
[1] Gun
[2] Shove
[3] Rocks
[Space] holster

IMPORTANT NOTE:
This game is unfinished. Shooting people is not the point of this game, but we didn't managed finished the game mechanics.
Please judge as a sandbox crowd simulation.


Credits:

Chris Birkhold
Chris Birke
Florian Hoenig


View fhoenig's journal. | View all entries by fhoenig

Ratings

Coolness54%
#31Innovation(Jam)3.64
#122Mood(Jam)3.00
#163Theme(Jam)3.29
#202Overall(Jam)2.86
#222Graphics(Jam)2.83
#229Audio(Jam)2.20
#239Fun(Jam)2.45
#250Humor(Jam)2.00

Comments

2DArray says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:08am

The crowd/flocking mechanics are extremely cool. Really nice work!

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:59pm

Is it normal that I can't shoot? :( I'm having trouble trying to play...

bechsen says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:06pm

Nice game you got there.. Plans on finishing? :)

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:51pm

Neat concept, I could sort of see where you wanted to take it. I really appreciated the AI that you'd created - I could see the rioters all bunching together as a big group, the other people circling them as if to watch the riot, some other people dotted about just talking or... jumping ecstatically... even a little store with people looking at. You had a great atmosphere, just a shame you didn't manage to get the gameplay in there. Keep working on it, it seems like a novel idea. :)

zompi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:51pm

Crowd like in assassins creed :D Very funny animation but... We need shoootiiiing!

fhoenig says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:57pm

Thanks everybody for trying the game and the great feedback.

NOTE:
You can shoot. Select weapon with 1, 2, 3 keys. Best is to play fullscreen. The mouse controls need a captured mouse cursor to work properly.

However, it's not about shooting right away.
You're supposed to be a undercover / thug working for the police. The real villain. You need to infiltrate / fire up the crowd so that the police can justify their arrests and get rid of the demonstration.

Unfortunately, there is no negative effect to shooting too early right now.

ahmedcab says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:25pm

very cool game, and nice mechanics.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:35pm

I still had more fun just messing around with this than playing some of the "finished" entries. You guys should continue working on it and submit it to kongregate or something.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:48pm

Really nice start of something

brantkings says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:37am

Cool game! It's a shame that it isn't finished

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:39am

Good start, I like the crowd mechanic you had in there. Too bad you were unable to finish. Post compo?

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:58am

Yup, this is a clever idea and could have been a super interesting game with more development.

atraxgames says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:45am

Cool!

Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:05am

Really cool idea, but I can't figure out what to do. After reading the concept, I really hope you guys decide to keep going.

It seems like systems are working, I just don't know how to use them lol.

raincole says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:53pm

Too bad you didn't finish it. The patterns of people are beautiful.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:27am

Wow. Nice crowd A.I. there. I didn't realize why there was a huge mob in the center and a circle gathered around them, and I'd thought it was vaguely creepy, and then I realized it was a really hardcore simulation of a riot. Fantastic.

Gornova says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:58pm

not rated.

you must continue and polish this idea

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]