December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Troll Bridge

by donmilham - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Troll Bridge you are the Troll that lives under the Bridge! Defend your domain by booting all who try to cross.

Controls:
Start Game: ENTER
Move: arrow keys
Kick: SPACE

Thanks for playing! I had a great time building this game for the enjoyment of all!

Oh, And Goat +1!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#85Humor3.48
#116Audio3.23
#202Theme3.57
#225Graphics3.31
#240Fun3.09
#260Mood2.97
#263Overall3.17
#627Innovation2.29

Comments

Wuhao says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:42am

i fell off the bridge lol

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:43am

I like the theme of trolls and I like the cartoony art style.
I just wish the troll had more than kicks to offer those horrible creatures because it gets repetitive.

monomanio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:45am

Hah, cool. A little hard at times to see if you're too close to the edge, or aligned with the correct enemy though. But was fun!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:51am

Tons of fun! 64 kills. Fell off the bridge :( Gets really intense. Music is awesome and I love kicking cats. Great job! :D

Hume says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12am

35 kills. Fell off the bridge frequently. Alignment is the hardest part, but I'm okay with touchy mechanics.

Like deathray said, I'd love to hit a double-bunny combo.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34am

I liked the art style a lot! However there always seemed to be a delay between my key presses and the actions. The kick is really slow, but that wouldn't be a problem if the kick could hurt the animals throughout the motion.

Besides that little nick pick it was a pretty solid game. I liked the fact that you could fall off, it made me very nervous about going near that edge.

28 Kills ^^

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:52pm

Fun, love the artwork! I hope you keep tinkering with it and add some variety though.

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:38pm

great art and music :) Really fun game, nice job!

DalsGames says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:38am

I really enjoyed this game! Fun,nice graphics,sound effects! And I love the twist that you can fall of the bridge :D

Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:09pm

Fun game! The left/right moving thing was kind of weird though, as I constantly missed my kicks even though it looked like I was right in front of the enemy.

AhNinniah says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:40am

Great idea! Funny sound and good music. Unfortunately, I too often fall off the bridge :)

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:54am

Really enjoyed the graphical style of this.

I too fell off the bridge :P

I don't think it was that obvious where the hitboxes of the badguys were, but it was an amusing game.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:55pm

Pretty good, but it's tricky to line up to kick and a bit too easy to fall off the edge (maybe play an animation when the player is right by the edge, trying to balance).

Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:36pm

Those kitty cats are sneaky! Cute game. :)

I feel like the troll should either be able to fall off both sides of the bridge, or neither side.

illugion says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:36am

I started laughing when i fell off the bridge XD that was a funny little game, i liked it

fishbrain says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 12:32pm

haha... very cool little game! like it!

StMatn says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:53am

Very cool idea! The animal-graphics are excellent :D Its a bit tricky, that the bridge is only secured on one side, but thats ok for a troll bridge ;)

ddionisio says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 7:45am

I'm loving the beat, makes me want to kick forest critters too! It was kind of hard to determine the kick hitbox, might be too small based on the animation. Overall, cool graphics and a pretty fun game!

SuperDisk says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:25am

Kicking animals off of your bridge sounded fun, but it's rather finicky and hard to tell when you're kicking an animal or not.

Neonlare says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:27am

Delays on the controls made it a little hard to get to grips with, but definitely enjoyed the presentation scheme with this. reminded me of some doodles you'd see from school, had that child-like art feel :D.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:28am

A little repetitive, the kicking area is a bit strict, the sounds were a bit annoying and falling off the bridge is a bit too easy, but the graphics were nice and brought in a few laughs.

ilo says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:11am

That's not how a rabbit sounds, he he he! :)

Lovely cartoon style, the music supports the fast paced action, and I laughed when the troll fell off the bridge. Good job!

RawBits says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:10am

Nice idea and simple implementation. A little hard to know where are the things exactly but it doesn't matter much. Funny gfx and goon music. Thank you!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]