Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Villain

by hypp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are EVIL!!!
You want to kill all the cats

Controls: Arrows and space


Well, this time I didn't really have time...
Anyway, at least I completed something!!!

To start the game, click in the game window and press space.

Tips and Tricks:
* hold down SPACE while in the game
* kill at least 500 cats

Troubleshooting:
* I have tested it on OSX and Windows, it should work on Linux
* On OSX you might have to use a different Java version
* On Windows you might have to update your graphics driver

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#50Audio3.53
#250Humor2.88
#524Fun2.51
#553Theme2.76
#632Mood2.23
#680Overall2.36
#681Innovation2.14
#741Graphics1.66

Comments

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:51pm

Physics were excellent.

Flai says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:54pm

I absolutely loved the sound effects and music :) ! Pretty fun game overall too, but it could've had time limit or some other goal/"ending".

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:57pm

I like the fact that cats don't die falling down:P

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:30pm

That sound when you jump is the best sound. Ever. You get a five star audio for that!

tompudding says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:52pm

How did it know I want to kill all the cats? Great meow sounds!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:26pm

Good sound! Nice with something not SFXR/BFXR for a change.

Cat Burton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:20am

Nice sound effects :D

hypp says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:15pm

I spent the longest time getting the cats to always land on their paws!
And it works most of the time...

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:46pm

The cutest disturbing thing I've seen so far. This was just WRONG but so funny. I'm going to stare out a window now.

zompi says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:07pm

You are sick bastard.. Killing the cutie cats... With such and evilness and sweet sounds... I've loved id! :D

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:08pm

The physice are nicely done. Its actually fun, to push the cats around and let them bounce :D

someone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:16pm

Now that... That's just plain evil, but funny.
Excellent sound effects, and the music works really well.
Great job.

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:32pm

Argh, that vile beasts are everywhere!
The controls are a little bit unpredictable. I didn't understand how to kill them f**ing cats effectively. The sounds are nice ;-)

Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:47pm

HEHEHEHE i love this game :D nice work! :D Poor cats :( xD

caranha says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:29pm

The sounds were cute, specially the jumping sound, but that is about it. In the game description you said to kill at least 500 cats, but I couldn't go on past 60-something. Maybe reduce that goal and make whatever happens at 500, to happen at 50 or 100 instead?

Sanguine says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:07pm

The sound was really lovely, but the gameplay was a bit lacking. Perhaps you should add kittens that hurt you or do certain things.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:01am

Sound effects are bar none the best I've heard in any other entry so far xDD

Really awesome physics too!

xandrew says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 2:14am

You are brilliant. This is brilliant. And horrible. But brilliant. Everything is brilliant. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]