December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

War'Asaal

by Griz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Current state of the game makes it more of a sandbox.

Worked on the engine and graphics a lot more than on anything else. Note to self : Prepare the basic engine before the actual competition next time. Also stick to minimal graphics until I am sure that I'll have enough time to create more eye-candy!

Feel free to check the game out anyways. It has some music that is better than I expected it to be, and same goes with the sprites :).

#### Controlls: ####

Arrow keys - movement.
1, 2, 3, 4 - spell hotkeys.
spacebar - cast selected spell.
m - mute music.

#### Changelog ####

v1.01
-Fixed physics beeing really slow for some people.
-Now works on Windows XP.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#272Graphics3.17
#288Audio2.64
#572Mood2.38
#572Humor1.95
#633Innovation2.27
#638Theme2.48
#669Overall2.39
#670Fun2.08

Comments

Schwiggy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:52pm

The sprites and animation are well done though it's not much of a game now. I suggest at least doubling the speed of movement for your engine and making a time-speed slider with the current speed as the slowest option; right now it's just too slow.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Didn't work for me. Windows XP

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:02am

Yeah, spending time developing framework hurts the amount of actual game content you can come up with. All things considered you still ended up with a fair amount. Next time!

sclark39 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:38pm

Couldn't play due to a "requires OpenGL 3.2" message (on a laptop).

schnerble says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Heh - looks pretty cool :) Could've turned out nicely given the time. The sound and graphics are both quite good. I think it may be the slowest walking speed I've ever seen, though... :)

Digiraze says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:28pm

Very very nice animation, especially the casting spell animation. Should put a shadow so it doesn't look floating, even a simple circular one. And nice music too.

Love the lightning, I can kill like 20 monsters, but took a while for those monsters to come to you, better speed it up. Spell 2 seems to be your most powerful, and it has short range - fair enough. Spell 1 is not as powerful as spell 2, but has the same range as spell 2. You should make it at least longer range. I didn't try the goat.

As for framework, I use to be like you. But now I keep saying to myself, "make games, not engine" ... "make games, not engine" =) Take Unity for example, it probably have been tested by at least a million people. Your own engine just can not compete with that. I myself use Monkey, for some reason, how ever bad my code is, it doesn't cause a reset problem. You wouldn't believe how many reset problem I had to fix with working with C/C++ ... headache.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:30pm

Sorry, my VM runs WinXP, can't run.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:44am

Not much of a game but the graphics and sound were good. Movement was s......l.....o.....w! Your engine seems to be coming along well. Take advantage of the library/framework rules and get your engine working before the challenge. Then use each challenge to find where your toolset is weak and fix those weaknesses. That is at least what I'm trying to do with my GameJam library. The key thing is to make sure you enjoy creating your own engine because there are many engines and game libraries available so only people who want to create their own engine should do so.

ceronman says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:35pm

Nice graphics and sound. It's not exactly a game, but it has potential. The movement of the enemies is really slow! It's boring to wait 5 minutes until the enemies are close enough to attack them. I didn't see much of the theme here.

Doublecaster says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:45pm

Can't run it. It says that I need openGL 3.2 or higher. I am using laptop with windows 7. My graphics card is NVIDIA GT 540M and I have the latest driver for it.

jmaasing says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Sorry, can't rate since I don't have windows.

Aslai says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 4:08pm

http://puu.sh/1HGV3
I'd always wanted my own horde of demon goats...

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Now starts on Win XP, but I get the following error:

Exception caught: GetRawInputDeviceInfo failed
at RegisterWaitForInputIdle

Win XP SP3, DX9 with all monthly updates.

Msquirrel says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:58am

Needs things adding to make it more fun, but the animation was really nicely done

Neonlare says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:13am

For all the time you spent on the framework, wow sir. This is pretty damn awesome for the most part, a bit slow at times though but very impressive :D.

HeyChinaski says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Nice work on the animation of the sprites, particularly the wizard guy. Music was great too. This would have been better if the enemies got stronger over time and you slowly gained the spells rather than have them all along. I assume that's what you were aiming for, had you had more time.

WiseGAMER says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:51pm

nice goats you have here ,the game is smooth too, but ,how does it end btw ?

Griz says ...
Apr 23, 2013 @ 5:46pm

@WiseGAMER
it doesn't! It's just a pointless goat-summoning-simulator with a guy-that-casts-stuff in the current state.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]