December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Best of Me

by zatyka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS:

WASD to move.
Space bar to look at object.
Arrow keys to use skills as you acquire them.
R to go to the last checkpoint.


This was my 2nd time competing in Ludum Dare. The end result isn't at a level I had hoped, but the game feels "complete", and will hopefully keep you entertained. I had a blast, and will definitely participate again.


Thanks for playing, I hope you enjoy. I'd love to know how far you got.

FYI - At certain times in the game, all the action will freeze (including your controls) as important text is shown. My apologies regarding some of the dialog progressing slowly. I meant to add in a "next" button so you could read at your own pace, but ran out of time. Hopefully it doesn't deter you from finishing... the ending is probably my favorite part.


If you've got your first ability, but are not sure how to get out of the first room... scrolls down for the solution.




















Look at the bars while in stealth mode.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#105Mood3.33
#114Theme3.78
#167Overall3.37
#202Audio2.93
#213Fun3.15
#220Innovation3.17
#312Humor2.69
#475Graphics2.68

Comments

Logun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:32am

I get the stealth power then ... I don't know what to do !

zatyka says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:20pm

Hi Logun,

Here's a hint. If your stealth power is on, the guards can't see you... which would make your cell look empty :)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:19pm

Not to bad good try ^.^ keep up the good work.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:16am

Got out of the cell but couldn't get past the next guard... any more hints?

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:17am

The music is really nice, sets the mood well. I'm not one for these sorts of games but it was enjoyable only complaint was that I wish I could scroll through text faster.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:18am

Pretty good. I wasn't a big fan of being forced to read the dialogue though. I like the style of the game, though. :)

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:32am

Good game, it's pretty complete. somehow I got into the final room(there are 4 giants inside) without fourth ability! is it a bug?

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:38am

Nice that you went for the stealth mechanic.
I got as far as the four big guys.

zatyka says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:18am

@Rex Peppers - Use the stealth mode (up arrow key) to get past him.

@TwilightFlandre and prettymuchbryce - Understandable... I knew it would be a bit annoying. I wanted to add the ability to move forward and backwards through the dialog, but ran out of time.

@raincole - Probably a bug, but it shouldn't be game breaking.

@CoffeeOnimal - Thanks. The room with the 4 guys is the very last one.... you were so close to seeing the ending. Thanks for playing :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:37am

couldn't get out of room but still like it

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:45am

Very good. Having to wait for the dialog got a little old. other than that it was lots of fun

Sestren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:52am

The controls felt really stiff and the dialog, while interesting to read, was difficult at times to wait for. I enjoy the idea of him gaining powers from reading comics a lot, and I think the mood is pretty good on this one.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:59am

Yay I beat it! It was cool, I liked it.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:08pm

I enjoyed it ! The skills mechanic is a good idea and it's nicely done !

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:19pm

Remarkably complete, although the unskippable dialogue making you unable to do anything was a bit frustrating

ddionisio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:47am

What I like about this game is your character's seemingly innocent descent into villainy. Kinda of a cute story, I feel :P Nice stealth effect, was a bit too fast on the drain...might've been nice if it was a toggle so the player can focus on maneuvering.

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:52am

Wow, a lot done in 48 hours, great job!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:53am

The creepy quiet music made me think was going insane! I especially liked the stealth effect. Good job! :D

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:24pm

It's a little confusing but pretty good. Not a fan of disabled controls with the dialogues though.

mcc says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:19am

potentially cool idea, though the mechanics i go to are a little frustrating and need to be tuned and i think there was too many of them for how short a game it is. also i encountered a few bugs, though nothing gamebreaking and i'm sure you were limited by time. the dialogue was also not too bad.

gnx says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:34pm

Nice setup for what could be an interesting story. The stealth ability is visualized very nicely. Unfortunately there in also lies a problem, the ability saps so quickly I found it extremely hard to pass the guards an it made give up eventually. Little more difficulty tweaking and I'm sure it would be a lovely game.

vandriver says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:26am

with a little polish, this could be really fun. the magnet power was slick, gave a real feeling of empowerment. after the room with the four guys, i was stuck in a wall outside a cell. was it a recursive end?

zatyka says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:21pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

@vandriver - There is a definitive ending. Sorry about the bug... especially because the ending is an important part of the story. I think I know the problem and will probably fix in a post compo version.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:48am

I felt really drawn into this game, especially with the comments made by the player character. The gameplay wasn't bad either. Good work, sir. Good work indeed.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:29am

It took some getting used to, but it was actually quite enjoyable when i got out of the jail cell, haha!

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:31am

Interesting, well done game.

rubna says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:41pm

Great game! The movement was really irritating though...

feili says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:34am

nice ending! good job!

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:20pm

The introductory monologue revealed the character's dilemma and identity crisis, was he a villain? The stealth power interested me. If you continue to develop this, do you imagine widening the arc of guard's vision would maintain my suspension of disbelief?

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:51pm

Again, thanks everyone for the comments.

@ethankennerly - It's really up to the player to decide, but I certainly imagined him as a villain, who had done terrible things, but lived in denial of who he was. To be honest, I'm not sure what your second question is asking. If you'd provide some more, I'd be happy to answer... but I'm not planning on developing the game further.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:59am

Hey, this is pretty cool. The stealth ability is really fun, and I like the graphic effect you created to represent their seeing range. I haven't finished it yet, but will certainly get back to it later. Nicely done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]