December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Rex (Applet)

by Bouyer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as Rex, a menacing monster who has come to devour everyone in the city! Crawl the streets feasting on citizens, but watch out for the police!

To win, you must beat all three levels and kill the crocodile hunter!
(Hint: You have to throw barrels at him!)

Good luck, and happy feasting!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Fun3.42
#126Humor3.27
#139Theme3.73
#180Graphics3.46
#237Overall3.23
#300Audio2.60
#339Innovation2.92
#456Mood2.63
#694Coolness48%

Comments

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:43am

Pretty tongue-in-cheek. I like the gimmick of using objects as shields before eating/throwing them, that's something you could've explored more. I felt like you should add more pressure to take this game to its full potential, since dodging projectiles is a pretty shallow way of interaction.

Oh, and it's weird how the people stay alive and blinking for a while after they're dead.

Joncom says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:07am

A very well rounded game. The audio is good, the graphics too, and hey, it's fun! Good work.

Skye says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:43am

I really liked this. Felt really classic and funny :)

doos says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:07pm

Ha, awesome.. Really good work. Although the graphics were a little rough, the animation was top class and everything fit the theme perfectly. Definitely one of my favorites!

Hatscat says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:16pm

Nice and very fun! hard at first, but with practice to target become easy

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:22am

I enjoyed that! Wanted some music, and a little short, but good fun :)

Yakka says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:41am

I love the dragon design :-D The orange guy was really hard to kill.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:20am

That was great fun! I liked the little sayings as well. :D

Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:56pm

Nice! The controls are very smooth and I love the random remarks that the different characters shout out when you devour them. I keep dying on the second level though, when the three army dudes in a row appear. There seems to be little point to eating people, though?

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:34pm

super funny! couldn't beat the hunter dude, even by throwing barrels at him. hilariously executed concept though.

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:59am

Very nice! :) A little hard though. On the first level you just need to get the first man and run but on the second level there are rocket launchers.

There was some cases when I got a person in hand and still got hit buy the cops.

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Fun stuff... chomp chomp chomp

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Rex is cute. Funny sound effects and basic but consistent play. Even a boss character who sounded miffed about being beaten.

ahm99 says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:53pm

That was pretty fun. Last level was hard. Maybe I'll beat it later. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]