December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Torture Chamber

by fr_automatik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Create some test subjects, throw them, punch them, make them explode. You can even make them dance ! Pure Evil !
(Note that the .love seem to be broken, I'll look into it later .)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#102Humor3.40
#192Fun3.21
#235Graphics3.29
#362Theme3.22
#386Innovation2.81
#485Mood2.57
#489Audio2.00
#498Overall2.75

Comments

peggiosoft says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:34am

great man, made my day :D

Red Mike says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:01pm

Really neat. Reminds me of older games of this kind, but focused on villainy.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:51pm

Not much of a game but entertaining nonetheless! Well polished and good graphics.

zompi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Explode rules! And finally a game with physics. Well done you maniac :)

SFX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:22am

Not really much of a game, but not bad. They dance way better than I.

namuol says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:46pm

The dancing was hilarious. The cruelest kind of torture.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:20pm

I was promised a torture chamber and that's all I got. Fair enough.

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:20pm

Nice game, games like these are always great for stress release:)

joyboxed says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:41pm

definitly entertaining =DDD

KEFIR says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:32am

Ha ha! it's like popping bubble wrap :)

ddionisio says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:35am

Well made sandbox torture chamber! Mad props to love2D! ;)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:46pm

I always find being made to dance a form of torture!

jsmars says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:14pm

Fun little chamber, works well and nice graphic style :) would have been more fun if there was a goal tho :)

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:23pm

Not a game in the traditional sense but tonnes of fun. It's a shame it didn't have more/better audio but everything else was very nice indeed. Well done for getting that out in 48 hours.

AyCe says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:27pm

What is physics + villainy? This ^^ Of course it get boring quickly, but spawning two guys so they stick to each other and then letting them dance -> looping: just ridiculous xD

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:02pm

It's a toy but nicely done with all the ragdoll stuff going on. Not much more to say about it really.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 7:52pm

Wow, this is hilarious. Thoughts:

Bad:
-Not much to do, but hey, that's cool by me. Just not by ratings.
-This may be just me, but spawning victims so they stick together really creeped me out...

Good:
+Fun. Quite fun.
+Nice menu there, I recognize the awesomeness of LoveFrames!
+DANCE.

SiENcE says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:53am

Mh not much gameplay but a nice sandbox for physics!

leafo says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:05am

Great little sandbox. Would be nice to see a game made out of it somehow :O

Dance was my favorite.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]