December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

DEFCON 0

by Flai - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as Soviet Union and try to conquer whole world by defeating other countries!

This is turn-based game.

Hold Right Mouse Button to Move the Map
Use Scoll Wheel to Zoom In/Out
Click Countries to See More Info

Requires XNA 4.0 Redistributable.

--

Unfortunately I couldn't manage to make this a lot on the 2nd day so gameplay is a bit lacking, sorry about that. Source code is god-awful, so I don't recommend anyone trying to read it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Graphics4.00
#230Theme3.50
#339Innovation2.92
#353Overall3.00
#393Fun2.79
#435Mood2.65
#582Humor1.94
#711Coolness47%

Comments

Joeslayer97 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:23pm

Too easy, but otherwise was quite fun

myachin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:11pm

not suitable graphics card(( sorry

Flai says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:19pm

@Joeslayer97

Yeah sorry, like I said, I was in quite a hurry to even make any gameplay at all :(

@myachin

Yeah sorry, I forgot to mention that this is using XNA4.0 HiDef Profile, which ( I think ) requires DX10 graphics card. I can't use Reach Profile which works on lower-end GPUs because the map texture is 4096x2800 and Reach profile doesn't support textures over 2048x2048

SirJson says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:00pm

Hm the idea is great! But it was too easy :X

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:28pm

hahahaha i control the world mwhaha all 940,000 troops ;D. So i got through the whole game and no end screen -_- jks this game i found pretty addictive cause i wanted to see if i could click every country ;o your map was a bit too indepth :p. Yeh it was pretty good and it would have been nice if there was a bit more interactivity but it is what is ;D.

Flai says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:52pm

@TuxedoFish

Yeah, I'm sorry that there were no winning screen, I had to cut it out :) But nice that you enjoyed it :)

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:38pm

Nice.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:26pm

A nice idea, but there wasn't much to do. I ended up simply sending everyone to attack America thinking I might lose... I didn't!

CMaster says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:26pm

Slightly confused as to why the Soviet Union has the borders of modern Russian and not the actual USSR.

Be good if the rest of the world could fight back, as its just a time sink

Deykoweec says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:31pm

did you really have to include so many countries? i got tired from clicking. a "lets attack everyone" button would be great

Flai says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:39pm

@CMaster

Hah, yeah I used a map that was on the modern time and I didn't actually realize that USSR and Russia's borders differs ( but now that I think of it, obviously they differ. Lots of eastern european countries were part of USSR before) :)

I originally planned that other countries can attack you back and make alliances ( and even possibly attack other countries to conquer them? ), but unfortunately I didn't have time to implement it. Maybe later if I decide to continue developing this :) October challange next year, I dont know :)

@Deykoweec

If the game had been what I wanted it to be originally, it'd been more fun with all countries. But yah, as the game stands currently it's really not very fun :(

ceronman says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:43pm

Sorry I can't rate this game because I don't have windows.

Peping says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:59pm

I can't run it, I get send report error right after running :(

Gazok says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:03pm

Quite fun, but gets boring selecting loads of little counties - could do with a group select. It's really easy, but I get that games like this take a lot of time to balance. Also, some countries like Eritea were not contemporaries of the Soviet Union... but I'm sure nobody really cares :P

Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:23am

There's a very good start to a game that would take much longer than 48 hours to develop. Hope you take it further, there hasn't really been a decent "Balance of Power" type game in a while.

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:52pm

Interesting game. Not very challenging, but I had fun playing it. Once I defeated USA, everything was boring.

Aswissrole says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:05pm

Amazing graphics (glow effects and everything) and excellent work on the countries! Some of the countries you probably could have missed tbh. Unfortunately the gameplay has a lot to be desired as you were busy, but never mind. Awesome start.

Gornova says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:45pm

worked fine, good graphics, simple gameplay, too easy. nice effort btw

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]