Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Gnome Alone

by bitwise-constructs - Jam Entry

You are McCullough, a Gnome Janitor who maintains the grounds of an evil Warlock's lair. The Warlock is off on business so it's up to you to keep out the pesky mob of Hero Do-gooders!

----Instructions----
Click the sign-posts to reroute the heroes path. Rusty sign-posts can only be changed once before they lock into place.

If there are spike walls on the bottom of the screen, click one to select it, move it to where you want (can only go on brown areas) and click it again to place it. Click it once more to delete it.

Press Esc to restart a level.
-----------------------

Runs on XNA

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#28Humor(Jam)3.63
#29Audio(Jam)3.68
#34Fun(Jam)3.56
#42Innovation(Jam)3.54
#46Overall(Jam)3.64
#65Mood(Jam)3.38
#91Theme(Jam)3.63
#213Graphics(Jam)2.90

Comments

TechnoBulldog says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:53am

My initial reaction was "Oh, they expect me to install this game... Darn." But after playing it, I definitely enjoyed it. This was a really creative idea, and dialog is very humorous, and the music fits perfectly! Good job!

Team Tibbles says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:56am

Ready the above post perfectly summarizes it for me too! I hate installs, but this one was worth it!

blob says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:06am

Good title ;)
Nice concept and good evolution of game mechanics though the beginning is slow. The game just misses a "fast forward" button, a lot of time is spent waiting for heroes to reach a wall and turn back. Good game overall !

sparkymc says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:25am

I really enjoyed this game! Really great work.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:37am

@blob A fast-forward button was something that got scrapped in a last minute compromise, unfortunately. And the slow beginning was my attempt at familiarizing the player with the different mechanics without too much text. After play-testing it some it turns out the text would have been better ;P Thank you for the feedback!

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:55am

The music entertained me. When I saw the opening levels it was clear to me how to switch the signs direct the heroes to their doom. Occasionally I was not sure how to click on a sign with a reddish mark.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:09am

Unfortunately I'm getting an error in the installer "C:\windows\SysWOW64\msiexe.exe the service did not respond to the start or control request in a timely fashion". Windows 8 is the likely culprit. The comments make me really want to try it. Any chance for a non-installer version?

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:11am

@dalbinblue unfortunately I used XNA which is unsupported in Windows 8. I'll upload a MonoGame port under "Mac" tomorrow; that should run it.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:25am

The main screenshot and title caught my attention. Great music! I got a bit confused with the rusty-looking sign.

vrav says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:54am

Awesome! I finally beat it. Love how it just kept throwing more levels in. Great job. Memorable game, funny voices. :]

LogGiant says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:15am

Definitely a clever title for the concept. The reddish arrows were a little frustrating when they were first introduced, but I picked up how they worked quickly. Good job!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:26am

Realized the rusty arrows weren't greying out when clicked once; fixed the typo. Hope that is the correct interpretation of "typo", if not I can put the old version back up.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:37am

would be nice if you had put in a reset for when you know you messed up, rather nice besides that

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:38am

@moomoo112 didn't have time to put it in a tutorial, but the debug level-reset key is Esc.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:46am

awesome game!

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:01am

Again, the installer ;) Very nice puzzle game. One level actually gave me some head scratching, nicely done. Maybe you could provide a version which doesn't need to be installed, and provided xna runtime installer link (like I do in my game page.)

Peping says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:08am

The gameplay of this game is really something. It's like inverse lemmings

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:12pm

What a fantastic game :) Loved the poster ^-^ Definitely worth the download. I second a "fast forward" button, like in lemmings

sauronz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:08pm

The poster and title grabbed my attention. And this is totally worth the download. Very good game, addictive and fun. Sounds fx are fabulous!! :D
I'm keeping this!

joyboxed says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:25pm

really like it =D the mechanics were nice and it tooked me 2 tried to understand that I have to kill the heros xD

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:44pm

Pretty cool puzzle game, really digging the reduction logic, nice job! Audio was pretty fun too :)

pighead10 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:06pm

Great music and dialogue!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:00am

Added a non-install option, sorry it took awhile! Also, thanks for the tip @Wukkopi

Retrac says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:20am

Well done, I think the game turned out great. The music and dialogue were enjoyable and really helped solidify the game. The game played out smoothly and was very fun. Great job!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:52am

Very nice concept and well executed - nice graphics and tunes - well done!

goerp says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:08pm

Great game. Easy to understand, and you keep on trying to beat the levels. The music was good too.
It's just a shame that I didn't get to see the poster in the game.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:53pm

Nice game with good level buildup. Nice sfx (music at least ;)

Spelchan says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:10pm

I'mg glad you added the non-installed version before I saw your entry because I would have missed a great game. Very well done but the bodies on the blocks should be removed with the blocks.

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:22pm

Interesting! The first two level very pretty easy, so I didn't expect too much from the game, but whew, the third level was a LOT harder. And then came the spiky road blocks...

Very cool what you pulled of with such a little amount of gameplay elements! The graphics work well, and the music is cool. The audio effects are funny and fit well.

All in all, a pretty good game. Thanks a lot!

Neonlare says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:00am

Very very good game here. Beginning was a lil slow but damn the mechanics are something awesome.

StMatn says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:06am

Cool music! Really enjoyable gameplay. Nice work

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:38am

Loved it! I'm not a huge fan of the art style + animations, but the game had some really cool depth to the mechanics. I feel like I could learn a lot from you!

Loved the music too.

Great job, it was lots of fun.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]